My New Year’s Resolution

Yea, I know. Most New Year’s resolutions fall by the wayside by February. I’ve done my share of those. But I am going to keep the list simpler this year- and by sharing it with you I am hoping you will help me be more accountable to them.

So here goes.

First- my goal is to more strictly adhere to the principle of Philippians 4:8 every day. Here Paul said:

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.

I confess that more often than not my thoughts have not been focused on these things. I have allowed the cynicism, pessimism and materialism of culture to overly influence me. I want to dig my way out from under this garbage and refocus more on the praiseworthy blessings of heaven in 2009.  I think by so doing, many areas of my life and relationships will improve by God’s grace.

Second- I want to take better care of the temple in 2009. This means getting to the gym more often and eating better. This is a continual battle of time and commitment to me, but one I must win. I have two little ones who need a healthy dad.

I solicit your prayers in these goals and you can help keep me accountable too!

Are you doing the resolution thing?

Happy New Year!

3 Responses to My New Year’s Resolution

  1. xybatt says:

    Ah, yes, the resolutions:
    1. I resolve to not lose 40 lbs, work out or exercise in some form 3 x a week
    2. I resolve to hear my favorite preacher speak at least once every other month.
    3. I promise not to invite said fave preacher to fish this year.
    4. I promise to work more 80 hour weeks and spend less time at home.
    5. I resolve to not improve my cactus like personality unless it is to my advantage.

    On a good note: Rachel has a devotional book which takes the entire family through the Bible in a year.

  2. Wendy says:

    I have 3 resolutions
    1. to spend more time with God each day
    2. to exercise every day
    3. to complete one UFO (unfinished object) each month (sewing… )

  3. Bill says:

    May your life be filled with happiness as you daily experience the blessings of God in the New Year!

    Bill Williams

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

