Lord Come Quickly: Four Reasons Why!

More than ever I hasten the return of Christ. Here is why:

1. I will be able to fold up my tent. Paul’s analogy of the body as a tent in 2 Corinthians 5:1-4 connects to me. This old body I have now–with its creaks and groans– is not the one God intended me to have. It is only temporary– a tent to use while camping out in this present world. I am ready to fold it up and realize something much greater. Paul says it best: “We know that when these bodies of ours are taken down like tents and folded away, they will be replaced by resurrections bodies in heaven” (2 Corinthians 5:1 MSG). I long for this– cannot wait for this twinkling eye moment when Jesus comes again.

2. I will be forever free. Right now I know only but a partial freedom. Certainly in Christ I have been freed from sin, but in this world I continue to live in the tension of the flesh–of the fallen creation. Temptation still comes calling. The tug of my sinful nature constantly remains as I struggle in the domain of the “ruler of the kingdom of air” (Ephesains 2:2). But once Jesus completely crushes the serpent’s head (Genesis 3:15) and ushers in the new heavens and new earth I will be forever free indeed. Free of all of the limitations; temptations; and frustations of the flesh–oh what a glorious day! Like the creation itself, in eager expectation I long for the time when I will be “liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into glorious freedom of the children of God” (Romans 8:21). No more tears. no more sorrow- just joy of liberation!

3. Eveything will be made right. The coming of Jesus is the great corrective– the time when God’s justice will put things as they were created to be. We all live under a curse (Genesis 3:17) . Through sin, the deciver has twisted and tainted God’s gifts. This broken world that we now occupy was never God’s plan for us. We are created for somethng better. Scripture gives us glimpses of what is to come- of a place were God’s justice reigns supreme; where everyone prospers and realizes completely the blessings of fully living in God’s presence; where everything will be made new (Isaiah 65:17-25; 2 Peter 2:13; Revelation 21:1-5). With every newscast of some great injustice; with every report of global terrorism; with every plea to help poverty; I long for Christ’s coming. I yearn for the day when God will set everything right.

4. I will be with God. Right now I am encouraged to be surrounded by a “cloud of witnesses” (Hebrews 12:1-2) as I continue my earth-bound journey. They encourage me to finish the race- to look to Jesus and not give up. When Christ returns I will be able to fully join them. Not just them, but be reunited with friends and loved ones who already completed their race. We all will be able to bask in the presence of God. We will need no light because he will be it. The Lamb will be beside him. We will all cry “holy, holy, holy” as the impact of the presence of God sinks in. (See Revelation 4-5, 21).

As John got ready to close his revelation of all he had seen through the Spirit of God he said this of Christ: “He who testifies to these things says, ‘Yes I am coming soon.’” To that he added his own personal commentary, “Amen, Come, Lord Jesus” (Revelation 22:20).

Yes, come quickly Lord Jesus!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to Lord Come Quickly: Four Reasons Why!

  1. Yes, I look forward to the coming of Christ for the same reasons. I can’t wait!

  2. TED KNIGHT says:

    Brother, as you get older, the things that you mention will become even more meaningful than today. Thank you for reminding me in a beautiful way of what I am striving for and what it will be like when it becomes mine forever.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

