The Sky is Blue

Having a web log is something new for me. I resisted long and hard before giving in to another advancement in communication technology. Maybe it was stubbornness or laziness or just my old-fashioned tendencies- I don’t know. But now that I am here, I am enjoying myself.

As I spread the word about this blog to family and friends I have received some stern warnings. “Be careful what you write on that! It could get you in trouble.” This warning is usually then followed by some antidotal story about a friend of a friend who got in hot water for something written on a blog.

I’ve thought about this and I agree with them.

So I pledge now to all three of my loyal readers to stay away from any topic that might get me in trouble. You can expect no posts from me on politics, religion, sexual issues or sports teams. I will do my dead-level best to be most considerate of gender, race, animal rights and hairstyles. If I make a statement of personal belief in any shape or form I will always qualify it as “truth for me and not necessarily so for you”. I will weigh heavily every single written word so I can avoid trouble at all costs.

This then brings me to my post of the day: “The sky is blue.”

But, then again it may not be blue for you- and I am okay with that. Color it as you please. No reference to a sunny disposition or an optimistic outlook is inherent in these words either, so please; do not feel like this is in any way a slight to the pessimists among us. This sentence is merely a statement of my experience of today only. Tomorrow the sky may be gray which is okay too, because I do not always need to have a blue sky expereince when others across the world are not enjoying one. I certainly want to be sensitive to their needs.

But still for me- today- the sky is blue. And for that I am very sorry.

There. I hope you enjoyed this post. 🙂

You may never read another like it.

7 Responses to The Sky is Blue

  1. Alcuin Bramerton says:

    I perceive that you claim to have experienced what you call the sky to be what you describe as blue a little while ago.

  2. Danny says:

    You said it Alcuin! I think.

  3. TCS says:

    trouble is underrated!

  4. JD says:

    I know at least ONE BROTHER who told you something like that. He loves to say that it’s better to keep some things to yourself. I will write about that one day. Is it wrong to think, question, have a different opinion? Only in cults. Thankfully, this will be your last post on why the sky is blue. I thought you were going to write about one of your former elders in another place. “Blue Sky” was once a part of our vocabulary.

  5. Danny says:

    He did cross my mind- along with thunder cloud. Fond memories. 🙂

  6. DJG says:

    ahh the bloggers dilemma…

    I HOPE I never read another like it.

  7. CFOURMAY says:

    You can say whatever you want on your blog! At least I say anything I want on my blog. (Even though I haven’t said anything in a while)

Leave a Reply

