The Culture of Fear

We are back from Lithuania- and I will blog all about it once I get some pics to share. In the meantime…

Missiles in the Middle East; Heightened terrorist alerts; Nuclear threats across the globe; Iraq; Afghanistan; Global warming; Looming hurricanes; Soaring gas prices; Predicted pandemics; Outrageous medical costs; Illegal immigration; Life is not easy in our post-Christian world. We live in a culture of fear.

Every morning our newspaper headlines deliver it. Everyday our twenty-four hour television media outlets thrive on it. Be afraid- be very afraid is the not-so-subtle message.

Some would argue that it has always been this way. We just now have the technology to instantly feed the fears. Certainly fear was a constant in Christ’s day. Even though the iron fist of Rome ruled, Palestine was just as unstable then as now. War, terrorism, disease, poverty and hunger were widespread. The culture of fear is simply the culture of man.

But not of God! (See 2nd Timothy 1:7) Christ confronted even our deepest fears and conquered them. His resurrection triumph revealed fear’s empty power. Wars will rage, injustice will abound, disease will take its toll, economies will fluctuate and poverty will always exist, but in Christ we do not have to fear them. Believe this:

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?As it is written: “For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”No in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels or demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:35-39)

Now contrast that message with that of the daily news and then allow Christ to banish the power of fear from your heart. Jesus has completely demolished the culture of fear through the grace of heaven and has replaced it with his culture of victory.

Maybe that was the message of good news that captivated so many of his generation. Maybe it will do the same now.

7 Responses to The Culture of Fear

  1. Stoned-Campbell Disciple says:

    The Gospel truly is a wonderful message of not just grace . . . but Shalom! I am preaching through Romans on Sundays and this past Sunday our text was 5.1-11. I called it “War No More.”

    I deeply appreciate your emphasis. The alternative vision of Christianity is breathtaking.

    So glad you are back and I know the Lord will richly bless you from your trip.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine
    http://stoned-campbelldisciple.blogspot.com/

  2. Gary W. Kirkendall says:

    Welcome home! great post

  3. JD says:

    Glad to have you back and posting such great teachings!Enjoyed our chat on the phone today.

  4. DJG says:

    It is good to have you back. I am glad you had a good trip and look forward to hearing more about it.

    Sometimes I feel like an ostrich, I just bury my head to world events. I guess it goes back to the serenity prayer for me. If I can’t do anything about it, I am not going to worry about it.

    It is great to know we are on the side of the one who is victorious!!

  5. Danny says:

    Thanks for the welcome back guys.

    Looking forward to more regular blogging in a week or so. Headed to Orlando this week for the Spiritual Growth Workshop.

  6. Danny says:

    BTW, what happened to some of your blogs. Have you moved? I am behind the curve you know. 🙂

  7. Stoned-Campbell Disciple says:

    Danny,

    Welcome back from Eastern Europe. I appreciate and agree with your comments. I have, however, met a number of men who do not believe women are “created” equal. I had a discussion recently in which I was told that Men were created in the image of God and women were created in the image of man. When we start of with views like this it does not take long to imagine were they may go. Tom mentioned above that a radical Feminist may take this research and decide that women are “superior” to men. This is possible. I suppose my only reply to that would be that many men agree with the Feminist just the other way around.

    About Charolette Allen. I have not read her article. I do not believe that mainline churches are in decline because of female ordination. I do believe it has to do with theological liberalism though (and female ordination is not necessarily an indicator of such theological liberalism.).

    You were gone in Europe when I made my post on Huldah and would enjoy your reaction to it since you raised this subject (and I do think how one reads Gen 2.18 has certain implications on that wider issue). Here is a link to Huldah:

    http://stoned-campbelldisciple.blogspot.com/2006/06/huldah-who-forgotten-ministry-of-lady.html

    I await your comment.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

Leave a Reply

