Blogging Preachers


In the latest issue of Preaching magazine Ken Gosnell has written an article entitled “Preaching and Blogging” in which he asserts, “blogging will change how preaching is done.”

He writes: “With a blog in tow, the preacher will be able to post a sermon idea at the beginning of the week and give the congregation a chance to respond. By Sunday, when he delivers the sermon, many will already be tuned into the topic. This allows the congregation, as well as other online participants to be actively engaged in the process and to be able to share their own ideas and thoughts. This can truly be a way to make a sermon topic last much longer than 30 minutes on Sunday morning. In fact, it can be a continual thought and living topic. Soon a preacher that does not blog with his congregation will be out of touch and behind the pack.”

Maybe I am already behind the pack but I confess that I have never considered using a blog in this way. Have you?

More from Mr. Gosnell: “Preachers will be able to use blogs to bridge the gap between what they think they know about their church members and the views that the members really have.”

Interesting. Next he lists six reasons why blogging will change preaching.

* Get input before Sunday
* Increasing Accountability
* Enhance the Preacher’s Transparency
* Improve Preparation
* Opportunities for Discipling
* Working Collaboratively

He does admit that getting member’s cooperation may at first be a daunting task, but is convinced this is the wave of the future.

What do you think? Do his points have any merit? Will blogging change preaching?

13 Responses to Blogging Preachers

  1. JD says:

    Blogs offer opportunity to be honest. I think blogging is healthy, creates a certain vulnerability, which allows the preacher to become ‘real’ to the people who read.I think the energy of blogging is interest in another human being, a search for information that can assist us on our journey, and a means by which to identify with that person who gets up and preaches for us each week. I am more interested in blogs that offer personal reflections than just theological talk. I have no problem with a preacher who wants to use his blog for sermon chat, but I think there are more personal uses that help people more.

  2. Stoned-Campbell Disciple says:

    JD is onto something. For myself I never really looked at my blog as sermon preperation for I’ve only done a couple of posts related to my sermons (those on Romans that can be found in the archives).

    However I have found that quite a few of the members at Southside do read my blog on a regular basis. I am not sure that is good or bad because then they do know all my quirks.

    I do agree that in the long run blogging will have an impact on preaching. But all cultural trends do.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  3. DJG says:

    I like the concept….I think it is good to know more about a person than what spews forth from his mouth for 30 to 45 minutes on Sunday. I don’t know if interactive sermon development is the key, but as a woman who will never be allowed to preach, I like the concept….

  4. Danny says:

    Interesting that of the three comments- the only one really endorsing this idea is:

    1. Not a preacher
    2. A woman

    I think Donna’s points are the very reason why there just may be something to this.

  5. JD says:

    “Spewing Forth”! Donna!!! LOLOLOL

    Send me your preacher’s e-mail please. (joke)

  6. Jim Martin says:

    Interesting. Thanks for calling attention to the article. I’ve never thought of the implications for preaching.

  7. Royce Ogle says:

    Exblogitory preaching? I’m for it! lol

    Grace and Peace,
    Royce Ogle

  8. Stoogelover says:

    I, too, prefer blogs that reflect one’s daily life experiences over theological studies (though some of the daily blogs that enrich me are almost totally of the latter). I must confess, though, I’ve been making my sermon topics lasting much longer than 30 minutes for years!

  9. TCS says:

    jd beat me to the “spewing” comment. My guess is that speakers who are open to this would already be listening to folks in other ways. Could also be a good follow up for churches that don’t use small groups to discuss the sermon.

    Ray Fleming at New Freedom Sanction had a quote from Doug Pagit about small groups, the best thing from it for me was that some people have to hear themselves say something before they believe it or know what they believe. Dialoge provides that oportunity

    For me blogs are both a way to say what you believe out loud and to dialoge with others. Risky stuff though some people want the “image” and not the real you. too bad.

  10. preacherman says:

    I do think blogging can help in this way. It would be a great tool to get members of the congregation to start thinking about Sunday. Reading, studying. But do you ministers really want your church reading your controversial thoughts? And wierd belief’s?
    Just kiddin.
    🙂

    Great post as always Danny.

  11. Danny says:

    I think several of you hit on the dilemma many preachers face with a blog.

    Who has not heard of the preacher posting something that somehow got him into hot water.

    So maybe soliciting participation from the congregation may be the best way to use a blog.

    Who among us wants to go first? 🙂

  12. preacherman says:

    Ummmmm……Uh….Huh….mmmmm….

  13. DJG says:

    Sorry about the spewing comment….No I’m not!

    You guys are already blogging. Just talk to my preacher where I can know what he really thinks about things!

Leave a Reply

