Soccer Dad


Our oldest daughter, Taylor, is now a full-fledged soccer player. She suits up, put her game-face on (which is just a goofy grin) and runs around on the field with other four and five year old kids chasing the ball and one another. It is a true hoot to behold.

And I am thankful to behold it.

Twelve years ago I could not even have dreamed of it. Then my world was crushed by a devastating divorce. My life was shattered. Gone in an instant were a wife and then later in some ways, a daughter. Loneliness and hopelessness became my companions.

But God was faithful! He sent many of his people to surround me with his compassion and love. Eventually he sent a beautiful and vibrant young woman from Arkansas to annoy me by “calling the hogs” and to love me just as I am. Then he surprised us both with the awesome gift of not one, but two incredible girls.

Now I am on the soccer field watching one- goofy grin and all- trying to kick the ball while her little sister grunts for something else to drink.

Oh yeah, I am happy to be a soccer dad.

Praise God.

5 Responses to Soccer Dad

  1. DJG says:

    I have another preacher friend who has a second life after a harsh divorce. He has enjoyed this last child so much. It is wonderful to have the wisdom to know how fleeting these years are.

    Sounds like your days and your heart are full…..but I am very happy with my grandchildren.

  2. preacherman says:

    I can’t wait unitl my sons start soccer.
    I love soccer. Watch EPL all the time. Went to the world cup in 94.
    Danny, who knows she might be the next Mia Hamm!

  3. Danny says:

    Donna, grandchildren are the best since you get to enjoy them, spoil them and them hand them back over to mom and pop.

    Preacherman, uh, from the looks of it, Taylor is a ham, but I don’t think we have to worry about her becoming a Mia! 🙂

  4. Stoned-Campbell Disciple says:

    One of my favorite soccer dad moments was last April. The girls were playing and it started to snow. I mean these huge white flakes. Pamella was there and we just started to laugh at the irony. I would never have believed it when I lived in MS and Bama or New Orleans for that matter.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  5. Anonymous says:

    Have I told you about my grand children? lol

    I never dreamed that I would find such joy in the most simple things. Grand kids are one of the most rare gifts this side of heaven. The only known problem with them is that they grow up.

    Grace and Peace,
    Royce Ogle

Leave a Reply

