Preacher Work

I love to write and blogging has provided me another outlet from which I have gotten much enjoyment- thanks in no small part to those of you who read and leave feedback. But keeping my blog fresh and inviting is sometimes proving to be quite the challenge.

This is due, at least in part, to my job. Lately it has kept me busier than ever. For instance tonight I will probably get home around 10 pm because of a mission’s committee meeting after Bible study.

Don’t misunderstand me. I love doing preacher work- well most of it anyway. I feel this is God’s calling for my life. For over five years I was away from it and while working for a Christian college and being on the mission field was rewarding, I always felt the tug of local preaching. It is just who I am.

This got me to thinking about how others perceive preachers and their work. We all know the jokes about working only four hours or so a week. It is quite possible that some actually may believe this.

What is your perception? What has been your experience how local preachers do their job? What do you think we should do better and is there anything you think we concentrate on that is missing the mark?

I realize that I am opening myself and my profession up here, but that is okay. We all can grow and learn from the well-meaning wisdom and guidance of others.

7 Responses to Preacher Work

  1. Anonymous says:

    I would imagine that our perception of the worthiness of the local preacher is based on how often he steps on our toes. 🙂

    Our little church of about 65 members is blessed with an awesome preacher. Perhaps we shouldn’t praise him too much, he may go on to bigger things….

    In my opinion most preachers I have known do a great job. HOWEVER, (there always has to be a however) some promote what I consider COC traditions too much, and have a tendency to shy away from anything controversial like abortion, or why we should seek unity with those who don’t share our exact hermeneutic.

    Many churches have sacred cows that if disturbed by the preacher tend to cause problems…so these subjects are often ignored, or glossed over; perhaps ignored because the elders are herding the cows.

    Enough preacher bashing. 🙂 I thoroughly respect those willing to dedicate their lives to God in this manner.

  2. Randy M says:

    Oh, boy! You are asking for it, Danny. Actually, constructive criticism is often helpful if delivered in the right way.Being a preacher myself, I can’t answer your questions, but I look forward to reading others’ responses.

  3. DJG says:

    I think it takes a rare individual to put themselves under the microscope like preacher’s do. While performing a needed and wonderful service they are often made to feel guilty about the salaries they receive. And I don’t know many people who think they only work 4 hours a week, but I do know several who think they should be on call 24 hours a day…

    I appreciate you, all of you guys that preach and serve…..that don’t mean I am always going to agree with you….but I do appreciate you!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    I think being a preacher is not something you can “take off” — and thus probably pretty overwhelming. It’s not what you do but what you are. (Especially in a pastoral sense — why don’t CoC people say “pastor,” since it’s not like you just preach a couple times a week?)

    Anyway, no one believes it’s easy.

  5. Danny says:

    Thanks for everyone’s comments. So far so good- when it comes to opinions about us preacher types.

    Nancy, We call our elders our pastors, but you are right that in many cases it is the preacher who does the pastoral care.

  6. Steve says:

    Danny,

    Nice blog! As a preacher’s son, I have a lot of respect for what a minister has to do and I know the demands of the job. Say, thanks for stopping by and looking at my Vilnius, Lithuania pictures. Fascinating place. The old part of town was very interesting. Several of the old churches I came across had quite a few people coming and going. I walked through the big cathedral in between services. I’ve been to Europe before but had never seen a crowd like that in one.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I have only deep respect for any man who stands before God’s people on a Lord’s Day with God’s book in hand to deliver a message from God to His children. At least that is my perception of how it should be.

    When those ancient men said to those believers after Pentecost, “…and we will give ourselves continually to the word of God and prayer” I tend to think the product they presented was a message from God, not just a “lesson” as we coC folks like to call it. Yes, there are lessons in the message, but it should be a message from God to His people.

    If not, why do it?

    Grace and Peace,
    Royce Ogle

Leave a Reply

