Label Me That

March 12, 2007

Recently this was written about my church; “The Gateway Church of Christ in Pensacola has been a liberal congregation for many years.” On a scale between one and twenty with twenty being the most “liberal”, it was written that we are a “15”. Interesting labeling, this.

This got me to thinking, who gives us the right to do this? Consider the labels we toss around at each other (and the definitions):

  • Liberal- generous, bountiful, munificent, giving freely, providing, open-minded
  • Progressive- advancing, relating to or characterized by progress
  • Conservative- preservative, marked by moderation

I don’t know about you, but I like all these terms. Maybe I can shake them all up and create a new label to wear. I wonder where that would fall on the scale?

Or I could just be a Christian. That one has a heavenly ring to it. No need for a scale either. Grace has that covered.

Just a Christian. Label me that.