But What About Clapping?

Consider this possible judgment scene scenario- We are there waiting to learn our destiny and some hear this:

Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me. – Matthew 25:41-43

Devastating words, and for many totally unexpected. Shock and incredible unbelief hits the stunned recipients like the proverbial ton of bricks. Protests begin.

“But wait Lord, this simply cannot be! You forgot to mention a few things here. You said nothing about worship and worship preferences. What about my commitment to weekly communion? That was the most important thing I did! What about my passionate position on praise teams, song selection and instrumental music? I stood up for you on these. And then there is clapping? How could you not mention that? I spent a great deal of time discussing this topic and I did it all for you, Lord. I did it in your name!”

Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will say to them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’ – Matthew 7:22-23

Somehow I think it is going to be about more than those one to two hours a week we spend together in worship.  

9 Responses to But What About Clapping?

  1. That Girl says:

    Thanks for putting it in a way that we can all understand.

  2. Donna says:

    You think? And I can clap and even occasionally say “Amen”? (you know I am a girl…)

    Good post Danny.

  3. dannydodd says:

    As one of my buddies in college used to say when he preached, “Let the sisters say Amen!”

  4. benoverby says:

    Danny,

    Powerful. Our works do matter. Either we trust Jesus and produce evidence of the Spirit in our lives, or we trust self fully expecting to get what we deserve. Those who expect to get what they deserve, sadly, will. What will some of us do when we stand before our king and notice that pesky harp of Re. 5? Will we try to force our inference on God Himself? : (

    Ben Overby

  5. TCS says:

    hey your moving up to about an 18 with this post. 🙂

    God forgive us for our loss of focus.

  6. dannydodd says:

    Harp? What harp? lol Thanks for your comment Ben- always insightful.

    So Tommy, an 18, huh? We still have some work to do! 🙂

  7. Royce says:

    Danny,

    Good post and good comments as well.

    In my view the there will be no final judgment in regard to salvation. I am today as saved as I will ever be and that fact rests completely upon the work and merit of Christ. The judgment for God’s own will be not about salvation but about rewards.

    At the geat white throne judgement(Revelation 20:11-14)men will be judged about their works but it is also clear that those whose names are not in the Book of Life are cast into the lake of fire. This is far different than the judgment seat of Christ
    (2 Corinthians 5:10-11) Here Paul says “we”, he is speaking to Christians.

    If we judge ourselves we will not be judged. I have judged myself and was found helpless and guilty. I threw myself upon the mercy of God trusting Christ and His provision for my sins and He declared me righteous.

    If there was any other condition other than having God’s graceous pardon based upon Christ’s work, I and you all would be lost.

    Grace and Peace,
    Royce Ogle

    P.S. I have added you to my blogroll Danny.

  8. Steve says:

    Good thoughts, bro. I like your new digs.

    Peace from the Space Coast.

  9. dannydodd says:

    Very interesting thoughts Royce. I am going to have to ruminate on them a while. And thanks for the add to your blogroll. I will recipricate.

    So Steve has made it to south Texas already. Good to hear from you my friend!

Leave a Reply

