Still, No More

Tiger Woods reveals a key to his tremendous success in the latest Sports Illustrated:

“I hate sitting still, I hate being stale. I’ve always got to be moving. I’ve always got to be challenged.”

On this approach to life I would call him typical- much higher profile- but typical. Most people I know cannot stand being still. 

Instead we cram moments into moments and overstimulate our minds to the point of drowning out any chance to hear that still small voice within. We keep the CDs, DVDs, TiVo, XBox, IPODs and PCs constantly on play. Even our recreation runs on adrenaline now. The hammock has been replaced by the Jet-Ski.

And we glory in it. Like Tiger, we are proud of it. Being still is for losers.

Could that be because we are afraid of discovering what the stillness may reveal?

Be still and know that I am God. (Psalm 46:10)

6 Responses to Still, No More

  1. Steve says:

    I like your new digs. Thanks for the invitation. I pray that things are going well with you in Pensacola.

    Fear drives much of our busyness. I’m reading an excellent book on the rule of St. Benedict that challenges our notions of busyness and how we view ourselves.

    Peace.

  2. […] Danny Dodd contemplates sitting still. […]

  3. We are afraid, as a culture, of stillness. It is then that the aweful numinous of God can catch us. But that is frightening.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  4. benoverby says:

    Satan’s allowed us to equate stillness and quiet with a lack of productivity. He’s twisted the truth into its opposite.

  5. Donna says:

    My problem is that my lack of stillness will never be as focused as Tiger’s. At least he zones in on something and works to be the best at it. If we must be busy we should be busy perfecting our gifts not just “killing time”.

    Yet I know that I need the still and quiet to hear God. I am getting better at it….

  6. dannydodd says:

    I appreciate the input- as always.

    Glad to welcome Steve to the wordpress blog.

    I will now have to look up “numinous” in the dictionary. 🙂 Thanks for expanding my vocabulary Bobby.

    Ben, you nailed it. Great observation.

    And I really like your point Donna. Our youngest, Jordan, does not know what still means. I realize she is not yet two, but the difference between her and our oldest Taylor is remarkable. Taylor could slow down and play in one place. Jordan as of yet cannot. I say this to say, that for some, being still may be a great challenge. It may take more planning and discipline and I think, God perfectly understands that.

Leave a Reply

