I Just Don’t Get It

I just don’t get it.  What would motivate anyone to walk into a dorm or a classroom and kill dozens of people? How does a person get there- in their mind?

Why does a person like Mary Winkler snap, aim a shotgun at her husband and pull the trigger? What was it, that was so horrible that pushed her over the line?

Why do people- often in the name of their god- bomb, murder, slaughter and terrorize others? What kind of religion is that?

Why do other people- in the name of their god- say and write hateful words, argue and divide, and do injury to souls? What kind of religion is that?

I don’t get any of this.

6 Responses to I Just Don’t Get It

  1. That Girl says:

    He’s coming to get us… soon, I hope.

  2. benoverby says:

    I guess we should be thankful that we don’t get it. Our minds don’t work in same categories as those capable of the sort of slaughter splattered across the TV. While we’re at it, how could a crowd of very religious people nail God to the cross?

    All creation eagerly longs for God to act, to vindicate the pain of the world. May He come quickly, and may we have the good sense to welcome His arrival this time.

  3. There are no limits to depths of depravity or insanity of a dark and sad world. It always amazes me that faith is criticized and the costant object of ridicule and satire, yet the secular pagans continue to produce people like this. As horrible as this is, isn’t it amazing that it took something like this to knock Anna and Imus off the front burner?

  4. dannydodd says:

    Well, even though I could never imagine myself saying this- I would rather have Anna and Imus.

    Ben brings up a fasinating point to me- that of the creation yearning for God to act. That particular section of Romans 8 has always held special interest to me. Maybe I will post about it later.

  5. Trey Morgan says:

    Danny, As tired of Anna and Imus as I was … I’ll take them anyday over this. Things like this remind me that heaven will be so awesome. They’ll be no more evil, violence and killing.

  6. Royce Ogle says:

    Jesus said that Satan was a liar and murderer from the beginning. And, the Bible makes it clear that the whole world (unsaved) are under control of th evil one.

    This is a tragic case of a guy just acting like his daddy. I know this is simplistic, but very true nonetheless.

    Grace to you,
    Royce Ogle

Leave a Reply

