If I Could

If I could I would make everyone see the eternal danger of sin and bring about the conversion of the world. If I could.

If I could I would infuse new spiritual energy into dying churches and dying Christians, so they could be energized to serve and praise as never before. If I could.

If I could I would heal all the hurt, wipe away every tear, mend all the bruised, and restore all the broken hearts. If I could.

If I could I would bring justice to those threatened unjustly, right all the wrongs and turn all that is bad into good. If I could.

If I could I would take back all the harsh words, unloving treatment, unkind actions we perpetrate on each other. If I could.

If I could I would instill within everyone a deep love for God, a forgiving hearts, a commitment to righteousness, and a respect for each other. If I could.

If I could I would silence all the guns, the wars, the conflicts between nations and people and bring peace to all mankind. If I could.

If I could I would make all the churches more evangelistic, more accepting, less divisive, more loving and compassionate and more of a family. If I could.

If I could I would give every child a home with a mom and dad who love them, each other and God. If I could.

If I could I would stop eliminate all illicit drugs, all drunkenness and all other chemicals we abuse. If I could.

If I could I would stop all murders, all rapes, all abortions, all child abuse and all other forms of violence. If I could.

If I could I would give God’s grace to everyone and help them to know and enjoy the incredible blessings of God. If I could.

If I could I would make everyone understand the virtues of sexual abstinence and remain sexually pure before marriage. If I could.

If I could, the cross of Christ would rest in the hearts of every man, woman and child. If I could.

But I can’t. No matter how hard I try, I just can’t.

But God can. All we have to do is give him the chance.

I wait for the Lord, my soul waits and in his word I put my hope. My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning. – Psalm 130:5-6

5 Responses to If I Could

  1. Darin says:

    One at a time, one at a time.

  2. vilnius1435 says:

    It touched my heart!

  3. dannydodd says:

    Thanks for the encouraging comments!

    And welcome back, Betty!

Leave a Reply

