Homeless Work Camp

Just imagine about seventy “homeless” teens hanging out at your church building. How would you handle that?

Well that is what is up at Gateway this week.  The Homeless Work Camp is the brainchild of our youth minister, Eric Petty and a couple of his friends.

Youth groups from Houston and Nashville have joined ours to experience a little taste of the homeless life while working hard with Habitat for Humanity and the Ronald McDonald house. Specifically, the teens are living on the floor in our gym and are not allowed to shower until the end of the week.

Yea, it is smelly work but they are loving it. And their awareness of the homeless plight is being raised.

I do not know about where you live, but the homeless population in the Florida panhandle only grows. I do not know the solution to homelessness, but I do know God has called us to minister to them.

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger and you invited me in. I needed clothes and you clothed me. I was sick and you looked after me. I was in prison and you came to visit me. – Matthew 25:35-36

9 Responses to Homeless Work Camp

  1. Donna says:

    I like that ideal…..I don’t know if I would like hanging out with those guys…but it sure does help open our eyes to things. (or our nose)

  2. preacherman says:

    I this is a great thing. I know that God will bless these kind of ministries. Because this is what real ministry is what is all about…”Serving”.

  3. johndobbs says:

    You really did not do justice to the reality of that SMELL! I enjoyed speaking there last night … great group of kids.

  4. dannydodd says:

    JD, you did a great job last evening addressing homeless issues. Thanks for coming over.

  5. Teresa says:

    My college-age daughter is spending the summer on the streets of Boulder, CO working with Sevens, a homeless ministry. Through this ministry as well as Dry Bones, a homeless ministry in Denver, she has really developed a heart for reaching out to the forgotten people of our day. (Which in turn has led me to much time on my knees in prayer for her safety!) I applaud your efforts to sensitize young people to the needs of those around them!

    I am reminded of the words of Isaiah in 58:10-12:
    “…if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry and satisy the needs of the oppressed, then your light will rise in the darkness, and your night will become like the noonday. The Lord will guide you always; He will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.”

    AMEN! And may God bless!

  6. dannydodd says:

    Teresa.

    I have heard awesome things about this ministry. What a difference they are making- and now your daughter too.

    It’s in her genes! 🙂

  7. Laymond says:

    Now this is the church’s work! may God bless

  8. Sounds like a great learning experience. I have a group coming from Searcy next weeek to work with the Downtown church here in Memphis, but I found houses for all of them to stay in…never occurred to me or their leaders, I guess, to let them experience “homlessness” like your group did. Live and learn!

Leave a Reply

