Are You Smarter Than a Sunday School teacher?

 One of my favorite reads is the back page in Preaching magazine. Editor-in-Chief, Michael Duduit, usually offers some real nuggets in his column. This month he asks, “Are you smarter than a Sunday School teacher?”

Take the test and find out!

1st grade: Where did Jesus perform his first miracle?

2nd grade: To what did Naomi change her name after she was widowed?

3rd grade: Which Bible character had surgery performed on him as he slept?

4th grade: What soldier criticized David for coming to the battlefield?

5th grade: What color was the cloth draped over the Ark of the Covenant?

No fair peeking at other answers in the comments! 🙂

So are you smarter than a Sunday School teacher?

7 Responses to Are You Smarter Than a Sunday School teacher?

  1. Nick Gill says:

    1. Cana
    2. Mara
    3. Adam
    4. Joab?
    5. White? (you broke the pattern… you needed another 4-letter answer) 🙂

    in HIS love,
    Nick

  2. Teresa says:

    I was wondering if you were counting it as surgery when Sisera had the tent peg inserted in his head. He was never quite the same after that!

  3. […] Danny Dodd wonders if we’re smarter than a Sunday School teacher! […]

  4. Tim Archer says:

    1. Cana
    2. Mara
    3. Adam
    4. His brother (no, I don’t remember the name)
    5. I’m going to need a lifeline on this one.

  5. benoverby says:

    I’m not smarter than a Sunday School teacher. I’m clueless as to number two, and would guess purple on number 5.

  6. preacherman says:

    A man once ask Albert Einstien, “How many feet are in a mile?” He replied, “I don’t know. I will have to look it up in a book.” The man who asked the question was stund and asked you don’t know. Albert Einstien said, “I’m rather fill my mind with larger things, than things he could look up quick in a book.” Should it apply to us. Don’t mean to be a downer Danny. I rather look it up in the Book and feel my mind with more important think of the Word of God. I guess then I am like Ben, I’m not smarter than a Sunday School teacher. I am clueless to all 5.

    • mary says:

      interesting reply however if a child comes up to you and asks questions about simple stuff and you don’t know, then they may not be willing to learn/memorize verses. sometimes the Word is not with us and we should always be prepared as it says in 1Peter 3:15. Children want concrete more than abstract and these little things help them understand God is always there.

Leave a Reply

