Worship Is:

The beach was great. We had fun relaxing by the pool and the surf. Actually caught a few fish too! Thanks for stopping by in my absence. Here are my lastest thoughts- for what they are worth.

Worship is a big deal topic in my circle. Everyone seems to have an opinion about worship- on how it should be and what style connects best. Unfortunately on occasion these opinions have boiled over into church strife and even division.

So, since so many others have given thier two cents worth, I thought I would chime in too- specifically about our corporate worship times. As you will quickly discover, this is not a theological treatise.

I will start with what worship is not:

  • Worship is not about me- my preferences that is. Certainly my worship should be focused in my heart and therefore is about me joining in with my spiritual family in praising God. But too often it seems worship becomes more about my preferences- the songs I want, the style I favor, the timeframe I like, the order I prefer- than anything else. When this happens we have lost the proper God perspective and have forgotten why we came to worship.
  • Worship in not an evangelistic tool– The church growth industry got us to buy into this one. “Just do worship right and the people will come.” we were told. Somehow I cannot find this in Scripture. Sure the Acts church- at one point- had favor with the people, but worship was not God-designed to put the church on display, but to honor and revere him. This approach puts undue and unfair pressure upon the worship participants and creates a perfomance-based worship style- which leads to the next point:
  • Worship is not a perfomance– In my opinion those of us who lead worship can fall into this trap. Again- it becomes about me and how I performed my role. Heaven gets lost in this approach.
  • Worship is not to be bound in the past– “We have always done it this way” can be a death-blow to a rejuvenating, uplifting worship. There are very few details revealed about the exact worship practices of the New Testament church. Obviously it reflected its time and culture. So should our worship. Our praise language should speak in ways that connect to our time and place.
  • Worship is not the everything that defines us– For too many Christians the hour or so they spend in corporate worship is it. Maybe this is one reason why the subject of worship has become so volatile. Our Sunday worship- if reflective of an active daily spiritual life of the church body- will simply be a coming together in an adoration celebration of the God we are so activily serving during the week. In this setting we will each consider others better than ourselves and rejoice that we have this time to be with one another. Thoughts of song selections and worship styles would take a back seat to thoughts of honoring God and loving each other.

With all that said, worship is- in my opinion- the time when God’s saints gather to honor him, celebrate his grace, remember his Son’s gift, offer up to him the fruit of our hearts and lips and embrace and encourage our fellow worshippers.

As Paul addressed the divided and worship- confused Corinthians he made it clear from the beginning what he was about: Christ and him crucified.

If we can be about this in our churches then our worship will mirror that. God will get all the praise and we will be glad when they said unto us, let us go into the house of the Lord!

There you have it- my feeble two cents- and as you can tell, that is about what it is worth. So I need some investments from you. What does worship mean to you?

11 Responses to Worship Is:

  1. Worship is living every minute of every day asking God to use me to help others see Him through me. It should by my lifestyle though I confess, it’s not always easy! I let life get in the way sometimes and forget to leave my burdens at the foot of the cross…

  2. Donna says:

    I agree with your “are nots”. I think too often we come together with expectations of what we can “get” and we completely forget to “give”….it should be all about Jesus and the wonderful things he has done for all of us.

  3. […] Danny Dodd has some interesting thoughts about worship. […]

  4. You mean it aint all about me! I may have to rethink this whole worship thing.

  5. Josh says:

    Worship for me is tasting my endorphins after a hard bike ride, the view at the top of the mountain, savoring good food, searching for greater understanding…
    Worship is not giving into the temptation-the high-of imagining myself in the midst of a God’s love-of creating false hopes and false realities. I understand the emotional appeal, the feeling of worship, but I will not give into emotional propoganda. I don’t believe anyone should. Check out my blog at http://reconstructionofdisbelief.blogspot.com/

  6. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    Excellent post on worship.
    A book that really helped me on the way I look at worship is “In Search of Wonder” by Lynn Anderson. It has chapters by Mike Cope, Lynn Anderson, Rubel Shelly, Max Lucado, and other great authors. The things I like about worship is that you can worship God 24/7.

  7. Trey Morgan says:

    Danny,

    What a powerful post. It speaks to any church of any size. I love it’s simplicity. Too many times we make worship out to be “what we like, what we want and what we are comfortable with.” I’m reminded of David dancing before the Lord and the ark of the covenant. He didn’t care how he looked or what anybody thought … he just focused on God. I want to worship like that.

  8. Worship is such a vital subject and is often obscured by polar extremes. I appreciate your post very much. I hope I do not sound self-serving but since a book was mentioned just above let me mention one called A Gathered People to be released at the ACU Lectures in a couple weeks by myself, John Mark Hicks and Johnny Melton. You might find it interesting.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

  9. Darin says:

    That is a good post. I fight with a desire for self serving worship.

  10. dannydodd says:

    If we are honest I think we all do Darin.

    Thanks everyone- for your input!

  11. I suspect there is too much attention on the nature of the object being worshipped, and consequently not enough on the worshipping itself. If I am right, worshipping can be intensified further. If you are interested, pls see my post at: http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/10/24/worship/

Leave a Reply

