Football Fever Fixed!

   

Okay, I will admint that this actually is an old bulletin article, but I am posting it because football season is here (yeah!) and because I have been in a story-telling mood lately. Hope you enjoy this old adventure of mine. 

It was a majestic, cool autumn Sunday as my roommate, Les Ferguson Jr., and I headed to the fine town of Brookhaven, MS. I was a sophisticated, learned (or so I thought) college senior off to preach at the Brookway Church of Christ.

 We rolled in and the morning went well. We were warmly welcomed and my preaching was positively received. I felt great- on top of the world! After worship we were invited to one of their shepherd’s home.

We had a tasty meal and nice fellowship. I was full, happy and ready for some football. I got their permission, turned on their television and prepared to settle comfortably in for the game. This is when the fun really began.  

The first thing I noticed was not the game, but a big thick line at the bottom of their screen. It did not distort the picture, but it bothered me. I remembered a similar problem with one of our sets at home which we had solved by pressing a reset button located in the back of the set.

I relayed this to my host family and volunteered to see if such a button existed on their TV. It did. Feeling rather triumphant I pressed it. Sure enough, the big thick line disappeared off the screen, but so did the rest of the picture! And as frantically as I tried, it never, ever came back on! All of my college sophistication left me. I felt ten inches tall. Talk about being humbled. Eventually they had to purchase a new television set.

My football fever was fixed completely- but not like you may think.  It was fixed with forgiveness. This family was exceptionally gracious to me. I offered to buy the new set, but they wouldn’t even consider it. They just forgave this young, full-of-himself-preacher-boy.

It was a lesson for a lifetime. I saw a glimpse of God’s grace that day.  We all make stupid mistakes. Sin grabs us all on occasion. We all press the wrong button sometimes. But God understands and offers through his Son to fix it for us. One verse comes to mind:            

 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive our sins(1st John 1:9) 

 What a tremendous guarantee! God fixes with forgiveness. As a young preacher I’ll never forget being let off the hook for a major mistake. As a child of God I can never forget the mercy and grace of a God so willing to forgive.  

Give this God a chance to fix your mistakes. His reset button really works!  

11 Responses to Football Fever Fixed!

  1. lesjr says:

    You forgot the part about leaving and going the wrong way–deep in lousyana! LOL!

  2. dannydodd says:

    I have tried to forget that part of it Les!

  3. Trey says:

    So this is a “bulletin article” like John Dobbs was talking about.

    He’s right … they are good. Real good. 🙂

  4. Donna says:

    Good story…..I had the same TV!!

  5. Dee Andrews says:

    That’s a funny story, Danny. I’m sorry – it’s just TOO funny. Sounds exactly like something I would do! Exactly.

    I CANNOT for the life of me get down the “clicker” system we have going here with all of our electronic stuff these days. I mean, Tom always says, and he is correct, that if something happens to him, I’ll never even be able to turn on the TV again, much less run the DVD player, CD player and assorted other “players,” all of which escape my grasp.

    Thanks for the good story!

    And don’t write so about Louisiana. Just be glad you don’t live there! We lived there for 16 years and it was 16 years too long, but hey, we survived and came out ahead, so you can’t beat that!

    Cheers! & Blessings to you all today! Dee

  6. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    Great story.

  7. Darin says:

    All I can say is stay away from my TV.

  8. […] Danny dusts off an old, but timely, article about football. […]

  9. Great story and great reminder that we ALL need God’s grace!

  10. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    Great story and application for us all.
    Isn’t great it great that we serve a God who forgives and fixes our mistakes and problems in life if we give it over to him.

  11. […] I started an old-fashioned gospel meeting today at the Brookway Church of Christ in Brookhaven, MS. I have had a wonderful relationship with this church since my college years. Way back then they helped encourage and nuture my feldging preaching efforts. It was here that I even killed an elder’s TV. […]

Leave a Reply

