Touched by Tragedy

Yesterday in the city of Jackson, MS the life of a beautiful, vibrant, trusting young woman was brutally stolen.  I happen to have known her. I can close my eyes and still see her fully engaged in participating in the fun at Christian camp. I know her family. I have for many years. They are dear friends with whom I have shared many wonderful times. They are my brothers and sisters in Christ. They are now completely crushed.

Yesterday the boyfriend in whom Heather Spencer trusted- even after his previous behavior screamed for her not to-murdered her. Her mother said that Heather just wanted to see the best in him.

Tomorrow I go to Jackson. I am asking God to provide for me the words to say to this precious family at her funeral on Friday.

I solicit your prayers- first, foremost, and enduring for this family- then for me.

9 Responses to Touched by Tragedy

  1. Donna says:

    Danny I am so sorry. I will pray for you all….

  2. That Girl says:

    I’m sorry. Of course, I’ll pray.

  3. johndobbs says:

    I wrote about Heather on my blog today as well. Danny, it’s going to be a tough couple of days … but God will give you the strength. Your presence will be message enough for the family … they have loved and trusted you for years.

  4. Trey Morgan says:

    Danny … my heart hurts for you guys. Makes NO sense. These kind of funerals are never easy. I prayed for you.

  5. Nick Gill says:

    God be with the Spencers, brother, and with you as his tangible presence of comfort among them.

    in HIS love,
    Nick

  6. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    I want you to know that you and especially the family will be in my prayers this week. I pray that God will give you the words you need to give the family the comfort and strength during this time of tragedy. I pray that the family will find the peace, comfort, strength, that God alone can offer during times like these. You are in my prayers.

  7. benoverby says:

    You all are in my prayers.

    Ben

  8. I am in Nashville at the American Association for Christian Counselors Convention. Diana called me just as I was arriving to tell me about Heather. I am heart-sick about it. She was the same age as my daughter, Laura. My heart hurts for the Henleys and the Spencers!

  9. Hoyt says:

    Danny, Judy and I will lift the Spencer family up in our prayers. I believe that this must be one of the hardest calls to receive concerning the death (and tragic at that) of a young person, a friend, a Christian family member. As parents of three daughters, our hearts are breaking for the parents. May you travel safely on the roads as your heart will be heavy also. Let God be the pilot, and you the co-pilot, especially this trip. We are praying for you also! We Love brother!

Leave a Reply

