Love the Brotherhood

1st Peter 2:17 is one dynamic, powerful little verse. Praise God that the Spirit included it in the Holy Scriptures!

Honor all men. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.

Four sentences. Four points. Four challenges. Much could be written about each, but for now our focus is on but one.

Love the brotherhood. What a sweet, sweet sentence. I think it is time we took this to heart. Truly.

Too often I have noticed that we haven’t. Too often we have been unloving, unwilling to accept one another and unsympathetic. And our history is littered with the resulting damage.

I realize our brotherhood is imperfect. But imperfections do not somehow suspend our call to love and to treat one another as sons and daughters of the King.

Peter said love the brotherhood. He did not say always agree with everyone in it. He did not say force the brotherhood to hold your convictions.  He certainly did not say divide the brotherhood.

Loving the brotherhood is an amazing heavenly concept that will produce a people providing a powerful witness to the God who reigns in heaven.

A brotherhood where love rules will create an atmosphere where disagreements are properly handled (Matthew 18:15); where kindness and tender affection will define us (Romans 12:10); where the simple truth of God will always be presented as a gift of love (Ephesians 4:15); and where our love example will testify to the credibility of our Messiah (John 13:15).

Isn’t this what we should want?

The brotherhood, after all, belongs to Jesus. He is our head. (Ephesians 5:23) Why not allow him to protect it, guide it, and judge it. Our call is just to love it.

That sure has a sweet sound to it.

And a sweeter result.

14 Responses to Love the Brotherhood

  1. Amen! Too often I think we forget that our enemy is Satan…not each other!

  2. Matthew says:

    Amen, the church is truly special to God and to us.

    http://www.matthewsblog.waynesborochurchofchrist.org

  3. johndobbs says:

    I think from now on when I hear someone spout off something as POSITIVELY taught in Scripture – something they can’t even find in Scripture – I’ll just grin and say, ‘isn’t that sweet’. It’s a lot nicer than what I want to say. 🙂

    Seriously, loving both those to our left and to our right is more than a challenge … it is expected by our Teacher.

  4. odgie says:

    This is how the world will know we are His disciples…

  5. benoverby says:

    Very good, Danny! And my additional two cents worth is as follows . . .

    It would seem to me that loving the brotherhood begins by recognizing the brotherhood. That is to say, the brotherhood isn’t only those who happen to be part of my tradition; it’s composed of all baptized believers. That being said, when’s the last time we invited our Baptist, Methodist, or Presbyterian “brothers” to one of our church activities? Do we send out invitations to addresses that only begin with XYZ Church of Christ? Loving a section of the brotherhood exclusively is an insult to the cross.

    So, if we’re going to love the brotherhood, let’s really love the Brotherhood.

  6. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    I love this post and wish we heard more of this going on. I have seen this week to much bickering and fighting going on over issues I thought were and should be solved years ago. I believe love is the center of Christianity and many Christians are missing that point. If we don’t love all the stuff we do mean nothing. If we don’t love our bothers how can we love God, John makes that so clear. One thing that I have stress and have seen at the congregation I have been preaching is loving one another despite our different opinions. I stress that there is a difference between Unity & Uniformity. I think alot of people in the brotherhood don’t see it that way. I wish they did. We are going to have different oppinions, backgrounds, ideas but love, and grace makes us United in Christ Jesus our Lord. Praise God for that love and grace that he pour out on us! Danny thank you so much for this post this week. When other blogs are acting so un-Christ like. I appreciate it.

    “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” John 13:34-35.

  7. dannydodd says:

    Ben, you always bring a great perspective to a topic. Certainly, we do not set the boundaries of brotherhood. God does and faith in him practiced lovingly is what should connect us all.

    Preach, the only way I know to combat divisiveness is to love. Sometimes that is difficult but in the end love will cover a multitude of sins. We just have to trust God in this.

    And JD, I think responding by saying “isn’t that sweet” might just make an impact- especially if another response is expected. Try and let us know! 😉

  8. Donna says:

    Ben kind of summed up what I was going to say….we should spend less time trying to “define” the brotherhood and accept each other in love!

  9. Royce says:

    Ben Overby took the words before I could type them. I completely agree with his statement.

    It is hypocracy to claim to love the brotherhood when we mean anything less than EVERY person who claims Christ as Lord. I know that was not your intention Danny, but I thought Ben’s was a point well taken I could not help but chime in.

    Grace to you,
    Royce Ogle

  10. TCS says:

    Danny, you’ve got me wondering. (no not about fantasy football) I wonder what it says about us whether it is harder to love those to our perceived left or right. Is one side harder to love, if so what does that mean?

  11. nancy says:

    to love the body of Christ is to first recognize our part in it. and “our part” is being responsible for our own relationship with God. our relationship with God comes through Christ, and Jesus Christ through the Holy Spirit. if we are actually having that relationship with God, the Love of God flows through us and renews us in a way that we can show God’s love. we do not love with our own love, we give the Love of God. it is the fruit of the Spirit of God that we are talking about here. we have nothing to give to the body unless we are actually recieveing from the Head…through the Holy Spirit.

    it is not us, it is the Spirit through us.

    we connect and renew and be filled…then we can give God’s love. (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness and self- control.

    if we do not do our part to walk in the Spirit, we can not do our part in giving God’s love to the body, and if we can not do this…what are we doing.

    what do we really think that we are doing?

  12. Dee Andrews says:

    I’m a day late and dollar short, but wanted to comment on this post, Danny, and all of the other comments because they are to be commended for their loving attitudes and outlooks. We do, indeed, need to consider all other baptized Christ followers as brothers and sisters in Christ and I would hope that we ever strive to do that.

    Thanks for your thoughts on this important subject.

    Cheers & Blessings to you all today! Dee

  13. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    I would love your input on my blog on Unity and Uniformity. I believe so many Christians believe that in order to have unity there must be uniformity. I believe that you can have unity without unifority. I would for you share your thoughts on the subject as I appeciate your wisdom. I have learned a lot on your blog.
    Kinney Mabry.

  14. nancy says:

    maybe we can have love through the Spirit
    without uniformity or unity.

    maybe love leads to not just to unity
    but to many other things as well.

Leave a Reply

