Share a God-Story

Here is mine:

Ten years ago this month I was the resource speaker for a “Single Again” retreat at Wyldewood Christian Camp near Searcy, Arkansas. During one of my presentations I mentioned how I was part of a group planning to begin a Christian camp in the former communist country of Lithuania that summer (July 1998).

After that presentation I was approached by Carol Bailey, an attendee of the retreat, expressing her interest to go with us. We had only one need and that was for an arts and crafts person. Turns out that she had years of doing just that at Wyldewood. So Carol joins our team and God blesses us with a fantastic first-ever session of Lithuania Christian Camp.

Fast foward to January of the next year. Our camp team is gathering in Oxford, MS for a planning session for the 1999 camp. Carol calls before the meeting asking if her friend  from her singles group can tag along. She is interested in possibly going with us. No problem I say, bring her.

She comes with Carol, meets everyone, likes what she sees and wants to join our effort. Carol asks me what I think about her and I reply something like- nice girl, sure she can come, looking forward to getting to know her better.

Carol apparently picks up something in the way I answered and quickly replied to me, “Don’t even think about it. You do not have a chance!”

Fast foward to September 23, 2000 in Melbourne, Arkansas when this young woman, Terri Dale, becomes my wife.

Only God could have worked all these circumstances out.

Do you have a God-story to share?

14 Responses to Share a God-Story

  1. Jeff says:

    I can’t seem to find an e-mail for you. I would love to speak with you further about checking out a site that I created. Maybe we could trade links. Please feel free to e-mail me to discuss.

    Thanks.

    JV
    http://www.godsurfer.com
    jeffv@godsurfer.com

  2. That Girl says:

    I have a God story but I’m not sharing it here… 🙂

  3. Trey Morgan says:

    Danny,

    I love your blog. You never disappoint. God plans things we never see. We often call them chance or coincidence, but it’s God the whole time.

    Loved the story!

    Trey

  4. dannydodd says:

    Thanks Trey, I appreciate your kind words.

    Ah, Teri, we would love to hear it!

  5. Rodney Livingston says:

    Danny,
    Great to hear from. Loved the story, the reality is that I lived the story as well. I saw all of that as it unfolded. If I had only been older in age it would not have been that easy for you, old man. HAHA. Love you brother. Tell the girls and Terri hello from the Livingston’s. Have a great day.
    Rodney

  6. dannydodd says:

    Hey Rodney! Great hearing from you. Thanks for posting.

    BTW, where are you these days?

  7. Royce says:

    What a wonderful story. I am reminded of the passage that says in part that when we walk with the Lord He gives us “the desires of our heart”. And “It is He who works in us both to will, and to do, His good pleasure”.

    What a blessing to know that you are married to a woman hand picked by God. I too know that joy.

    His peace,
    Royce

  8. Hey, I heard that you were going to be speaking at the Pepperdine lectures this year. Tim and I are going to be there, too. Tim will be singing on a praise team that will sing for John Mark Hicks and Lynn Anderson when they speak. We’ll be looking for you!

  9. dannydodd says:

    Royce, thanks for reminding me of that “desires of the heart” reference. We serve an awesome God.

    Yes, Tammie, God willing, I will be at the ‘dine! I love this place and these lectures.

    Terri and I are scheduled to co-teach a class- that should be interesting and fun, but alas there is no praise team singing for us. We are scheduled up against some well-known speakers, but we will rejoice with those who will be adventerous enough to find us and spend this hour with us.

    Glad you will be there- we will look for you too.

  10. Darin says:

    Danny,

    Cool story. Mine is different but the same with the wife and I. 12 plus years later, three kids and a dog testify to God’s goodness. Thanks for the reminder.

  11. SteveLavin says:

    During our young married life my wife and I did not share the same faith heritage…which was a good excuse not to maintain a relationship with God. After the birth of our first child my wife felt it was time to correct that. We tried a couple of times to attend one of the local CoC’s (my heritage) but we never connected and the assembly just felt too foreign to her.

    Within a year I had been offered, and accepted, a job two states away. We also found ourselves living within a mile of one of the largest CoC’s in the state. My wife mentioned she would be willing to try this church. Within 2 weeks of our first visit she became a Christian. When I tell our story I always say, “We moved to accept a job, but God moved us in response to our feeble, although faithful, attempt to draw close to Him.” I have seen Him work in our lives, on more than one occasion, as we have feebly, though faithfully, drawn close to Him.

    Hebrews 11:6 “…he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” (Even if feebly!) Perhaps, that is the connecting thread between this topic and the one about the grace extended to Abraham.

  12. xybatt says:

    within a few weeks I lost my family (wife and daughter left and moved to NJ-another man involved), lost my apartment and job (Hurricane Andrew) and was loosing my mind. So, I dealt with as Jimmy Buffett advised. While drunk and looking for happy hour, I found the Sunset C of C in Miami. The radio station had given out the address of the new bar and I wrote it down (I thought) But the address was of the church. I went in where there was a video presentation of Breechem and Faulkner about “Father and Daughter relationships”. I also met Keith Mitchell, a counselor and elder, who persuaded me that Jesus had shed enough blood…even for me. My life changed.(this is the short version, my friends can ask me about the possessed car)

  13. SteveLavin says:

    Probably the greatest God story I ever heard was not my own. It is not even a ‘happily ever after’ story. None-the-less it is a God story that challenged me spiritually as few things ever have.

    One day Rich Mullins (Christian songwriter and singer) was being interviewed on the radio. The (male) host asked him, “Are you married?” To which Rich joked, “No…Are you asking?” They both chuckled and then the interviewer asked, in a nice light hearted manner, “Did you ever come close?” Rich Mullins response was so thoughtful and reflective that I was caught completely by surprise. He said, “I came close once. I had a long relationship with a girl and thought she was the one…. But she married someone else.” He paused and then offered this explanation. “God wanted me to remain celibate, so He broke my heart to accomplish it.”

    There was no bitterness in his tone. Just an amazingly spiritually mature perspective that God is at work in all circumstances and that as his disciple Rich understood God was at work even in the disappointments in his life. That is the part that challenged me. Not that God works in happy times (I already shared mine) but that I should recognize, and accept, His will in all life’s circumstances. We serve a sovereign God and while I love the ‘happily ever after’ stories, the truth is that all Christian’ s who faithfully serve God have God stories…whether we recognize it or not.

    Danny, I don’t know if this is the kind of thing you were lookiing for, and my first response shows that this mindset still isn’t my first response, but I do believe it is a different perspective that is worthy of consideration.

  14. dannydodd says:

    Steve, to me God-stories come in all shapes and sizes- they just reflect how God works in our lives.

    Sometimes it is with a happy ending that we get to enjoy this side of heaven. Other times our rewards come with we are with God.

Leave a Reply

