Can’t Keep Up

The King of all Church of Christ bloggers (tagged that by the Christian Chronicle’s Bobby Ross) wrote on his Sunday blogpost about something called Twitter. It is supposed to be the latest and the greatest web phenom site.

Maybe it is.

But I am not twittering- yet. Nor do I Facebook, MySpace, Skype, video chat, or whatever else is out there. I admit it- I am a web neophyte. I just simply cannot keep up with all of this stuff. I do pretty well just keeping up with this blog.

This; emails and my three fantasy baseball teams are all I can manage web-wise.

But I will admit to being just a tiny bit envious of all of you net-smart folks. I marvel at those who whip out their Iphones and Blackberrys and thin lap-tops and whiz around the world-wide-web. Just how do you do it all?

The host for this site- WordPress– has recently changed its set-up pages which is challenging me. (I cannot even find out how to spellcheck this post now!) Yahoo wants me to switch to their new-and-improved updated pages. And I am still limping around while learning and using Vista on my lap-top.

It is like they say, change is the only constant.

Oh well, just more adventures for this old preacher, I guess.

17 Responses to Can’t Keep Up

  1. J D says:

    Twitter is simple and I think you would like it more than blogging. One sentence at a time my friend. 🙂

  2. J D says:

    Although I should be clear… it would be an addition, not a substitution … don’t quit your blog dude!

  3. preacherman says:

    Danny,
    You are always in my prayers daily as I send quiet time with God.
    I pray he will pour out his countless blessings in your life, on your family and
    ministry.
    God bless you brother for all you do for the Kingdom of God.
    In Him,
    Kinney Mabry

  4. Trey Morgan says:

    When I was a kid I said something about twittering and my mom washed my mouth out with soap. No twittering with me. I did signup with facebook, but I still don’t keep up with it much. Blogging and email is all I have time for. Oops, I mean blogging and email is MORE than I have time for.

  5. Trey Morgan says:

    PS – I think the King of blogs needs to update his picture to this King (http://reveries.com/135s/bk_the_king.jpg?Id=2607)

  6. Teresa says:

    I attended an Technology & Learning conference in Denver. One of the speakers talked about how comfortable kids are with technology, because they have grown up with it. He referred to them as “technology natives.” Those of us who are older and newer to the technology scene, he referred to as “technology immigrants.” We may get better at the technology, but we will never be as natural as the “natives!” What a great word picture!

  7. Teresa says:

    p.s. How about trying your hand at Wikis? There is a whole new venue to explore!

  8. Jim Sexton says:

    Next year we have to get into a fantasy baseball league together… I commish 2 leagues this year and find it to be a tremendous stress, relieving diversion.

    Now about the other stuff… well, I just read and reply (sporadically at best) to the blogs of others. They tend to go in cycles… as one blogger is in a lull another is rising to new heights.

    I will borrow from a baseball expression… it isn’t a sprint, it is a full season marathon. Actually that is a great way to look at our Christian lives.

    Jimbo

  9. Jim Sexton says:

    *** make that …a tremendous, stress relieving, diversion.***

  10. dannydodd says:

    AMEN Jim- this is what I have been telling my wife about FLB! I love it- eventhough my teams had a rough first week. Next year- keep me in mind.

    I like the term “technology immigrants” Teresa. Often I do feel about as lost and strange as when we first moved to Vilnis, Lithuania. Oh, I had to look up Wikis to know what it was- and of course, I learned from Wikipedia! lol

    Trey- funny remark about twittering! And JD and that king do kind of favor. lol

  11. J D says:

    That king gives me the shudders.

  12. Donna says:

    twitter….who has time to twitter…and I missed a couple of days (or weeks) and came back to the WordPress changes…how dare they not keep me informed..

  13. dannydodd says:

    I feel the same way Donna.

    AND- how could they not keep the spell check feature. Don’t they know how much I need that! 😦

  14. kenny says:

    when i told wordpress that i was having problems … it was like me dealing with the phone company, and our phone line problems at the office. i tell them i have a problem. they say what problem? i go back and check the circuit and its working. i ask what did they do, and they say, “oh, nothing. we just tested it.” i guess magic is still going on in the world.

    it was the same with wordpress. i told them that some of the widgets i had on my older theme were not available on the new one i selected. they wrote back, “what problems.” i go to my blog and the widgets are working. i ask them, “what did you do?” they say, “nothing.”

    can’t anybody accept blame anymore?

  15. Adam G. says:

    I’ll have to check this “Twitter” out tonight when I get home from work. Now that I have broadband I visit Facebook and MySpace more often, and even blog on the latter, but I don’t care much for either of them. They could close down and I wouldn’t feel a twinge of loss.

    I can’t lose my blogspot, though!

  16. Teresa Jurczak says:

    Danny, I think it is great that you have a blog. I have shared it with some people at work who will check out the blog but would never set foot in church. The neat thing about the blog site is all the other links. So maybe after they read about converse tennis shoes they might just read something spiritual too.

  17. dannydodd says:

    Thanks Teresa. I appreciate you reading the blog and spreading the word!

Leave a Reply

