Ain’t No Time for the Summertime Blues!

Summer is here. What are your plans? Do you have any vacations planned? Maybe a mission trip? Just relaxing? What is on your church summer calendar? Do you even like summertime?

While autumn is my favorite time of the year, the summer at the Dodd house will be busy. We will spend a week at a beach condo, some time at a friend’s cabin in Alabama, probably take in a Braves game later, let the kids do a camp thing or two- and just enjoy.

On the Gateway church front- I will be in Lithuania for a couple of weeks doing camp there and of course, we have a big VBS planned, but other than that it is very laid back here in the summer (except for our youth group). I will have a summer preaching intern for a couple of months and that will be fun. Plus I am taking one summer grad course- so that will keep me busy.

All of this is according to God’s will, of course.

So, share your summer with us. This ain’t no time for the summertime blues you know! 😉

9 Responses to Ain’t No Time for the Summertime Blues!

  1. Adam G. says:

    I have no plans for the summer. Just work. I started a new position at AT&T (where I’ve worked for two years already) and will be pretty occupied with that. I’d love to do some hiking and take the family on a picnic or two, and go fishing. We’ll see.

    Interesting that you mentioned Lituania. I’ve always wanted to visit there, but never have had an opportunity. Now that they are on the Euro, I don’t think my budget could handle it.

  2. I’ll be in Canada the first week in June helping with my first grandbaby! Can’t believe I’m that old, but alas, I am…then we will be going to several Academy of Implant Dentistry mettings….and going back and forth to Canada to see the baby! Can’t wait to spoil him rotten!!!

  3. Teresa says:

    This week I attended a reading conference in Atlanta along with 18,000 teachers! A few of us attended a Braves game. Not being a baseball fan, my friend asked if I was going to stay the whole game. My response, “I doubt it, but I should make it to at least half time.”

    She looked at me and said, “You don’t watch a lot of baseball, do you?”

    That will probably be my only baseball game for the summer!

  4. Royce says:

    In two weeks my much better half Carol and I will be off to the Houston area where she will give a presentation about WFR Relief and we will visit with the overseeing church elders and preacher about he work in Bayou La Batre that is so close to our hearts. (Perhaps there will be a day of fishing involved…who knows?)

    Then we’re off to the Ft Worth area to visit Carol’s mom and aunts and uncles for two days and then we’re off to Mexico for 5 days of rest and relaxation at a new resort North of Cancun. By the time we return our granddaughters will have returned from 2 years in Guam! We will be delighted to see them and their parents of course.

    Real estate, yard work, gardening, fishing, teaching, mission trips, and loving on grandkids is about all we get to do it seems. Sorry for us yet? Seriously, I will never understand God’s lavish goodness on someone as undeserving as I. He is God and I am not. I’ll trust Him.

    His peace,
    Royce

  5. Royce says:

    Not “aunts undes” I promise. Why don’t they have speal chek on these comments?

    Royce

  6. Preacherman says:

    Danny,
    Wonderful post.
    I love reading your blog brother.
    I would love it if you and your readers could stop by my blog and leave a comment for a family who is suffering greatly. It would make a difference.
    Thank you so much brother.
    God bless you Danny.

  7. Darin says:

    Sounds like a great summer. We are taking vacation to Texas and hopefully a trip to visit my wifes parents after they have moved to Colorado.

  8. That’s encouraging to see your work.

  9. Jim says:

    We will stay at a timeshare in Orlando the week of Spiritual Growth Workshop. The kids want to go to Universal studios. Are taking a church group to Atlanta for the aquarium and Braves game. Other than that, we have a beach and good fishing here in Pensacola..

Leave a Reply

