Goodbye JR Buddy

The celebration of the life of John Robert Dobbs will take place on Friday, May 23rd at ll a.m. at Calvary Baptist Church (in able to hold the expected crowd) in Pascagoula, MS.

The son of my best friend was killed earlier today. He was just 18 years old and about to graduate from high school. Such a talented kid. Such a funny guy. Such a sharing Christian was John Robert Dobbs.

I had known him all of his life. At first he was JR Buddy to me as we played monopoly together (He seemed to always win). Then he became JR Beadreaux for reasons I really cannot even remember. Later he was John Robert. Lately he was just John.

I spent a few after-Christmases with JR Buddy. It was in a rough patch in my life, but JR’s giggle helped smooth some of that out.

Now he is with God. I spent Wednesday with his mom and dad. John and Maggy Dobbs and I have gone through a lot together- from divorce to births to hurricanes, but we were not ready to go through this together.

John and Maggy, I love you.

Goodbye JR Buddy. I-along with so many others- will sure miss you. I hope your room in God’s house is overlooking Park Place.

 

 

22 Responses to Goodbye JR Buddy

  1. mattdabbs says:

    That is tremendously sad. Our prayers go out to them.

  2. J D says:

    Thank you Danny. I appreciate your presence today so much.

  3. Donna says:

    I am so glad you were there for them..My heart aches for all of them.

  4. Trey Morgan says:

    Our hearts break. The Dobbs family is in our prayers.

  5. Bobby Ross says:

    What a wonderful tribute, Danny. Thank you.

  6. That Girl says:

    Thank you for telling us about him. I can’t wait to meet him when we all get there!

  7. Garrett says:

    Great post Danny. I love you broham.

  8. paula says:

    Very sweet. We, too, look forward to meeting JR Buddy when all of God’s singers get home.

  9. holyridaz says:

    Great Tribute, our hearts and prayers go out to the Dobbs family.

  10. Thanks for sharing Danny.

  11. Adam G. says:

    This is terrible. I’m so sorry for the loss.

  12. Bill says:

    That was great my friend.

    bill collins

  13. Paul Stevens says:

    John, with great sadness I write to send my love to your family. My prayers will be for all of you as you deal with this tremendous loss in your lives. I’ve been gone for almost 9 years but I still remember our times together and often thank of you and the GCBC. May our God grant you peace and comfort in the days ahead.

  14. xybatt says:

    Peace.

  15. Janice Rast says:

    Danny I know how much you love John, Margaret and John Robert. What a beautiful tribute to him. I can still see John Robert as a little boy with that adorable sweet face and he grew into a young man with the same sweet look on his face. What a terrible tragedy for such a wonderful family to have to endure. I will be thinking of you tomorrow and praying that God gives you the right words to say at the funeral to comfort John and Margaret. Send them our love. We love you!!

  16. George Green says:

    This is the first time I have blogged Danny, but I just wanted to let you know that everyone you mention is on our prayer list at San Jose in Jacksonville, FL.

  17. Diana Bradshaw says:

    Danny, you’ve had too many funerals for young people to preach. I know you are a comfort to John, Margaret & Nikki. It always helps to have cloase friends around at times like this. I’ll be praying for you all.
    Diana

  18. Scottie says:

    Danny,

    I have no words for this…my thoughts are with you and the family.

    /scottie

  19. preacherman says:

    JD,
    I pray that you will feel our pryaers and God give you a double measure of comfort and strength in the days, weeks and months ahead. I love you brother and am so sorry for your loss. We grieve with you and your family.

    Kinney & Tess Mabry

  20. kdavis777 says:

    How do we even begin to try and fathom the pain of all of this. Our hearts are sad.

  21. janet lee oakes says:

    hello my name is janet lee. i was john roberts cousin.
    i remember when we where little kids we would play power rangers together. i have so many amazing memories of me and him playing together. his gradmother use to make us coke flots when he would come to see his grandparents i would be so excited i would wake up in the moring i would call his grandparents and ask can i come over that was the first thing on my mind when i would wake up. he was my best friend i didnt get to see him that much but when i did get to see him i was so happy when we would have family get together i would always ask is john robert going to be there. im going to miss him so much! but know that he is in a safe place right now! looking down on us smiling like he always did. i love you john robert you keep the straight up there! I LOVE YOU!!

Leave a Reply

