Does God Speak to You?

No, I am not talking about in the wacko way that many nut-jobs claim. Neither am I talking about all the preachers who claim to have a constant pipeline to God. I still remain very skeptical about that.

I am not talking even in terms of the obvious. We all know God speaks to us through his Word. We also know he can communicate to us at times through his creation.

I am talking about a night many years ago as I was suffering through the crisis of my divorce. It was one of those nights when I was practically inconsolable. In the midst of my sobs and grief God appeared to me. I saw him on his throne with Christ at his right side. Christ swiftly moved away from the the throne and held me. He simply said to me, “Everything will be alright.” Immediately I was filled with a tremendous sense of peace and security. It was a watershed moment in my process of healing.

I realize that I am putting myself out there now in confessing this. To be sure this is the first time I have mentioned this publicly. Could it have been just a dream? Sure. But that still would not have changed the soothing effect of this experience to me. To me it was real- dream or not.

But before you put me in that wacko category- hear me out. I do believe that the Bible is God’s complete revelation to us. I do not believe that God would privately reveal any kind of “new truth” or that he would speak in any way that would somehow contradict or undermine what has been revealed.  

But is it possible that my experience was not a dream? Is it possible that God of love would visit us in this special way when we need it most? And what- if any- part does the Holy Spirit have in this?

I do not have all the answers here. I am just exploring this topic. I would appreciate your wisdom on this.

39 Responses to Does God Speak to You?

  1. Matthew says:

    I have never had an experience like this, but I have wondered about the role of dreams and God. Thank you for sharing.

    http://www.matthewsblog.waynesborochurchofchrist.org

  2. TCS says:

    Danny,
    I have greatfully stopped calling anyone who claims to hear from God a ‘whacko’ or ‘nut job’ . I do often wonder “did God tell you to tell anyone else”? Thinking that may have just been met for you. But when we ‘hear’ from God we either are afraid we will look like a freak or we are so excited we want to tell.

    I think it is a great lie in many church settings where it is taught that God speaks through the Bible and the Bible only. Ironically that isn’t what the Bible says. A simple change from seeing the stories in the Bible as examples instead of exceptions changes a lot. Some say, “sure Joseph had a dream that God used, but it was a special dream” Really? Nothing says that. The examples are that these messed up people (murderers, adulterers, those who see God work one minute and doubt the next) despite their weakness, actually LISTEN to God and ACT on what they hear.

    If everyone else you know came at you with torches and pitchforks…I am standing with you on this. God is alive and yes, I believe you heard from him.

    Sorry, that is almost as long as your post.

  3. Danny Holman says:

    In revealing scripture God used several different avenues to communicate. The “voice” seems to be only one of a whole diverse set of tools. In fact, as Lord of the universe and every experience, it would only make sense that He can use any of it to communicate. Was it just a human dream born out of a deep need for peace and comfort, or was it a message from God? Perhaps it was both. There have been those times when I looked back and saw God’s hand leading, guiding, and comforting. But there have also been those times when the immediate happened, and I felt the hand of God. Like you said, not supplanting scripture or adding to its message. It was more experential.
    One time I was worn out at the end of a long youth trip. We were finishing it up with a run to Six Flags in San Antonio. The group was getting ready to leave and one kid was not present. So I went to look for him… it was as futile as it sounded. An hour passed… no sign anywhere. I was tired, hungry, broke, wanted to be home, and a little bit angry that all of my work in theology, ministry, family and adolescent development, and more had come down to searching for a “teen in a hastack.” I sat on a bench for a moment… feeling pretty sorry for myself. I remember thinking, praying, “Lord is it always going to be this way?” As I was praying, behind me on the park speaker was the old Ferlin Husky song “On The Wings of A Dove.” The words are about God’s care, and Noah’s time in the ark. As it was being sung, a dove came and sat on a branch just a few feet away. Coincidence, maybe? I don’t think so. It was, as you said, a watershed moment, precisely when I needed it.
    All this opens a ton of other questions for which I don’t have the answers…especially those about times God seems silent. However, I have come to enjoy the mystery of God’s work. I don’t understand it… but I guess if I did it wouldn’t be a mystery.
    For us children of the enlightenment it is somewhat disconcerting… but sometimes its comforting.
    ( I am suspect of the tv guys with the hi-speed dsl connection to God. I think it may be because there seems to be no mystery there… it seems very trite. )
    My curiousity… why do you think it is that preachers in our circles feel like they are crawling out on the end of a very thin limb when they start talking about these kind of things?

  4. Adam G. says:

    On June 15, 1997 I had an experience during my first worship service in Brazil. A song was sung that I could understand, somehow, despite the fact I couldn’t yet speak Portuguese. This tremendous SENSE came to me that God was directing me, calling me to mission work in Brazil. My time at Harding nearly wiped this memory out, but when I return to it I find it sustains and uplifts me. I don’t believe it was mere emotion. I was the only one impacted, apparently, and it was “just” a communion song for most. Words can’t adequately describe what happened to me in that moment.

    There was another night, years later in 2005 (the worst year of my life thus far) when I awoke in the middle of the night, grabbed my Bible and headed for a corner of the stairs to the basement. Despite the difficulties and hardships and all the challenges before myself and my family, I felt compelled to praise God. I don’t know why, but I was swept up in His grandeur.

    I don’t look for these experiences, but I take them when they come. They have meaning for me, and for others only in the impact they have on my life.

  5. ben overby says:

    I don’t think you’re a wacko. I’ve not had a dream like that, but I have experienced something like what I’d describe as a “vision” during centering prayer. No new revelation, just comfort.

  6. Royce says:

    Danny,

    I recommend Edward Fudge;s book, The Sound of His Voice. Also, he gave lectures at the Tulsa Workshop on this very topic and the cd’s are available.

    The prophecy of Joel, confirmed and accepted by Peter about the coming of the promised Holy Spirit of God was the following: “And in the last days it shall be, God declares, that I will pour out my Spirit on all flesh,and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,and your young men shall see visions,and your old men shall dream dreams” (Acts 2:17).

    It seems to me your experience is completely Biblical. Of course we should never interpret scripture by our experiences but rather our experiences by scripture. I am not even hinting that you have done less.

    It is unthinkable that God, who knows everything, and wants us to do His will, would be completely passive in regard to our daily living.

    His peace,
    Royce Ogle

  7. Janice Rast says:

    Hey Danny,

    When I read this I just had to let you know about a dream that Jeremy had a few weeks ago. Jeremy has not gone to church in a long time and has sewn his wild oats at college. Needless to say we made him come home from Starkville this month.

    I had to tell you this to help you understand what this dream meant to him. He shared this with me last week but had the dream a week or so ago and just waited for the right moment to tell me. He dreamed that him and his dad were at Walmart and all of a sudden everyone froze and everything in the store and outside started burning up. Then he said that the people started just being zapped away. Some were going up in the air and some down. The only people that were alive were him and his dad. He said that he was panicking because he figured any minute he was going to be zapped down and he didn’t want to leave his dad.

    When he shared this dream with me he said that he woke up so scared that he went to the kitchen and sat at the table and was shaking. He said that he prayed for the first time since his papaw Lee died which has been a year and half. He told me that he told God right there that he was going back to church and getting his life together. He has really stuck to that. He went to church Sunday for the first time.

    I really believe that the dream was God’s way of showing him what would happen if he stayed on the path he was on. He truly believes that God gave him this dream for a purpose.

    There are so many ways that God speaks to us. I am so thankful that Jeremy was able to experience this through his dream.

    Love ya,
    Janice

  8. dannydodd says:

    Thanks for the interesting input everyone.

    So far, I think we all agree that it is possible for God to speak to us in various ways. I think we all agree that his messages to us are consistent to Scripture and are personal in nature often bringing comfort.

    As Royce said- maybe we shoud even expect it. (I will have to check out Fudge’s book)

    Danny brings up a good point to consider about when God is silent.

    I do appreciate those who shared their experiences of hearing God. Thanks Adam.

    Janice- so glad you posted- we love all of you very much and glad to hear about Jeremy. Even if what he experienced was simply a dream based upon what he had been brought up to believe- it seems God uses our dreams.

    I am glad that Matthew, Tommy and Ben (BTW- welcome back Ben) do not think I am a wacko! 😉

  9. That Girl says:

    Another nut job checking in. I do not think that we should limit God in any way. I think that he can choose to speak if he wants!

    I also experienced a dream in which I was riding in the back of a truck (of all things, my mother would wear me out!) there was a lot of traffic and I looked up and Jesus was in the clouds. He looked right at me and smiled. When I woke up, I was so excited because Jesus knew me. He really did. That thought comforts me even now. He knows me – and I think he likes me!

  10. TLC says:

    Oh, everyone, please be VERY careful here. I started my Christian walk nearly five years ago in a Charismatic church where everyone preached that if you stilled yourself before the Lord, you could hear his voice. And I believed every word of it. A year later I was taught about contemplative prayer. For four years, I spent 1-2 hours a night, and sometimes more, reading my Bible and Christian books, listening to worship music, and “talking” with “the Lord.” The last year has been a series of very painful revelations that I was under constant deception during these four years. Now I’m very hurt and lost, am wondering where God was the whole time, and what was real. Please check out this article on the Apprising Ministries blog:

    http://www.apprising.org/archives/2006/03/be_still_and_kn.html

    Also, please be sure to check out Brian Flynn’s Web site.

    I still believe that sometimes people DO hear God’s voice, in a variety of ways. But not as often as many Charismatics think!

  11. D. Meadows says:

    Danny,
    I’m your sister so I know you’re wacko (but for different reasons!). I would like to share my experience of having God talk to me. When I was about 11 or 12 years old, I was a real scaredy-cat. I always had a fear of someone looking in my bedroom window and then breaking in to get me. Many nights it was hard to get to sleep. To be sure, we did have a peeping tom when I was younger so I am sure this is where the fear began. One night as I lay sleeping, something woke me. I looked up and there at the end of my bed was the most beautiful sight – an angel watching over me. Normally I would have freaked out but the most wonderful peaceful feeling came over me at that time and I was not afraid. I had already become a Christian by this time and I have always felt that God sent this angel to let me know that I should not live in fear. Could it have been a childhood dream? Yes, it could have been, but even so it showed me that God does care for us and interact in our daily lives. I think that if we are still and let God tell us that He Is, we would be amazed by what He tells us.

  12. dannydodd says:

    Ah, I was wondering if there would be a moderating voice show up and TLC did.
    And I am glad. Your point is well-made. There has been much damage done by people who claim to have heard God’s voice. This is why I was careful to note that I do not believe that God says anything to anyone that goes against his will or subverts his revelation.

    As both Terri, my sis, Donna (bout time you posted! lol), Janice and I said- our experiences could be nothing more than dreams, but we know that God has used dreams.

    It seems to me that the common thread in all of this is that these experiences have occured at times of challenge and change.

  13. Donna says:

    I think I have told the story of the overwhelming sense of God’s talking to me the day I knew I had to start some type of food ministry. I was in Ryan’s of all places! But whether it was God or not, I couldn’t let it go. I have to believe it was him.

    And then there are my dreams….

  14. odgie says:

    Danny,

    A few years ago, I had a similar experience for the first (and so far, only) time in my life. In 2003 one of my best and longest-time friends (we grew up together) who lives about 2 hours away attempted suicide. He had attempted to asphyxiate himself and was in the hospital; the doctors would not speak to the extent of the damage yet. Because they had no family nearby, his wife called me. I called my minister and quickly packed some bags and set off on my drive.

    Unknown to me, my minister sent out an e-mail alert to several other Christians and had the office staff at church stop what they were doing and pray for my friend in the hospital, his family, and me.

    While driving along, crying and trying not go off of the road, I began to feel that there was another presence in the cab of my pick-up; I felt it as strongly as I could feel the steering wheel in my grip. My heart rate slowed down, I stopped crying, and a feeling of remarkable peace settled on me. I didn’t hear or see anything–but in my mind there seemed to be a voice saying, “Mike, i’ve got it all under control. Calm down, do what you have to do, and trust me.” I went on and took care of his family until their relatives arrived the next day.

    To the surprise of the doctors taking care of him, my friend made a full recovery. He began taking anti-depressants and seeing a therapist. I will never forget one of the doctors telling him upon his release from the hospital: “I am not a religious man, but you should be dead when you are not, and there may be a reason for it. You better think hard about that before you consider doing something like this again.” My friend has never attempted to hurt himself again.

  15. ben overby says:

    TLC makes a great point. There’s bound to be plenty of people who will abuse a good thing—there always is. I have difficulty swallowing some of the stuff various teachers claim God said to them. We have an obligation to “discern.”

    And a person who teaches the practice of contemplative prayer in an effort to hear a word from God has simply missed the point; though again it doesn’t surprise me that there of those who will twist that ancient practice into something harmful. As a quick aside, contemplative prayer as practiced since at least the desert fathers and beyond, aims to still the soul, clear the mind, and simply know that God is and that He loves us. Whatever sort a prayer a person is practicing in order to “hear” a word from God, it isn’t authentic, contemplative prayer. When I’ve taught on this subject (though I’m no longer a teacher), I’ve always warned that there’s a real and present danger in slowing yourself down to the point of prayerful meditation—that is, the soul gets exposed. If we’re deceived, then we can open ourselves up to hearing all sorts of voices. The enemy can turn the whole thing on it’s head and destroy us at the deepest level. Christian meditation, whether it be contemplation or something like “lectio divina” must come packed with prayers for grace and faithfulness and a desire to know God in truth. The experience can be profound and like the one Paul described where he didn’t know if he was in his body or not, or it can be a nightmare. Reviving ancient and forgotten practices is a good thing. When those practices get into the hands of teachers who are decieved there’s a good chance that all hell will break loose . . . literally. But such teachers will make a killing in the process, no doubt and no pun intended.

    ben
    boverby@southeasterncardiology.net

  16. J D says:

    Danny, thanks for this post and this subject. As I told you, at least three people have told me that John Robert has appeared to them in dreams … one a likely person, and two unlikely. I have not had that experience but would cherish it if I did. Maybe one day I will. Thanks for being open enough to share your experience.

  17. Scottie says:

    Danny Holman said “My curiousity… why do you think it is that preachers in our circles feel like they are crawling out on the end of a very thin limb when they start talking about these kind of things”

    While I have never experienced the sorts of things being discussed here, it does not make them any less valid or possible. I think the question asked above is an interesting one as well. In my mind, the reason lies behind the need for “understanding”–(read control) of God’s nature. In my experience in this tradition, our leaders (and many followers) don’t like it when they don’t have answers or they cannot explain with respect to God.

    We have confused the idea of Scripture being absolute truth revealed with Scripture revealing “complete” truth. Before I get asked to leave this blog, let me explain. I believe that we can find all the truth we “need” in Scriptute to live our lives. However, that is a far cry from believing that God has revealed all mysteries to us. I

    don’t think everyone (or anyone) can understand the fullness of God. Truth be told, I am not sure I can understand the tiniest fraction of Him. He choses to reveal Himself in various ways to different people for various reasons. He always has even through Scripture. I have not done a complehensive study, but I would bet that there is a significant amount of these experiences that are more supportive of a particular situation than “doctrinal revelation”. Even the prophets did not receive a lot of new instruction, they were often being told where to go and whom to present, but the message was consistent.

    That does not mean that we should “expect” revelations of this or any other type beyond Scripture. Nor does it mean that those who receive these moments are more favored than thos who do not. There are always those who (intentionally or not) are deceiving or are being deceived. They lord over the knowledge they have received to those who haven’t. That is not what we are talking about here. However, many in our tradition equate these “supportive” experiences (when death or divorce or some other struggle is present) with priviledged revelation or they simply don’t understand it, so it is easier to condem or forbid it because they do not understand.

    Heck I don’t understand it. I don’t understand the Bible most times, so how could I expect to understand the complete nature of God? We are most honest when we admit that we are not God–that we are the created. How can I possibly dictate what God will and won’t do?

    sorry for the length…i’ll keep it shorter in the future.

    scottie

  18. dannydodd says:

    Great post Scottie. Keep em coming and don’t worry about the length. Your point about understanding God’s nature is key to this discussion.

    I am impressed with everyone’s comments. There is a terrific balance in them and I am glad that you feel able to discuss your experiences here too. How can anyone deny stories like Donna and Odgie shared?

    And Ben- thanks for expounding upon contemplative prayer. I am glad you picked up on this and exlpained more about it.

    JD posted a comment and to be honest- this entire blogpost stemmed from a conversation we had about the very thing he commented on.

    • paula says:

      I thank you for this site. I have to tell you something that happened to me. My dad dies 2 yrs ago. The day he died it was a sad day he really had a hard time breathing they said it looked worse than it was. I just kept praying that the lord would take him home. I knew he knew the Lord as his savior. anyway when he passed we went back home to do some things before we went back to my moms.. I was out side doing something i looked up in the sky and just prayed quietly that the Lord would just show me dad was ok I knew he was but I just had to have something..just at that moment a butterfly flew right in front o me me. Now when i told my brother he laughed and said so you think dad is a butterfly .no i explained what sense of peace it gave me and i really felt the Lord did that just for me as i was telling him this we were siting outside and right on the fence there was abutterfly with one wing flapping.. I know this may sound strange but the year after he died my brother sent my mom flowers. when i went to see her guess what was in the vase a butterfly, My brother said he did not ask for anything to be put in the arrangement and my did not see it till i pointed it out to her but i know it was meant for me….
      Thanks
      paula

  19. Edward Lee says:

    Well, I’d be leary of calling anyone a ‘whacko’ for claiming to hear, see, or experience God in any form or fashion. Since God dwells within us and we are created in the maker’s image, than experiencing God can happen in any number of ways. Humans, afterall, are God-Essence. All of creation is God’s. There is no limit to the manifestations of the creator.

    It isn’t for me to discern or judge or even question how someone else experiences God. We spend more time trying to figure out if someone is legit, when they make claims, and try to bring our logic into it. This is foolishness. There is no logic in visions, voices, or revelations. It was not logical during the ancient times, and it’s not logical today. If someone was to approach me and say that she ‘heard God’, ‘saw God’ or ‘heard voices’. I can neither proove it or disprove it, and I don’t have the gift of interpretation (and wouldn’t want it), so why would I even try? My response would be not to question her, but to ask her how this has drawn her closer to the Father and to living out the teachings of Jesus.

    Also, in my estimation, the Bible is NOT the truth, but merely reflects the truth which you can only completely know by experiencing it, not by reading what’s written down. This being the case, I don’t believe that the Bible is necessarily God’s complete truth, but one aspect of it, and a very strong aspect of it indeed. It’s interesting how Jesus never wrote ‘truth’ down, but merely lived it. He experienced it, and embodied it and became it. This is far more believeable or complete than anything written down.

    When you see something written down, you have to decide whether to merely ‘believe’ it.

    when you experience something however, you ‘know’ it.

    Only by experience or witness is anything written down every validated.

    Jesus said, “you will know the truth and the truth will set you free.” Belief comes by reading or hearing, but knowledge comes through experience.

    I’ve personally witnessed God’s revelations far more in my life’s experiences than in any book.

  20. dannydodd says:

    Wow, Ed comes in the house with some strong comments. Thanks for your candor brother! I am just wondering if your opinion on the Bible NOT being truth, but just a reflection of it will get any response.

    I am not sure I understand that comment and will have to think on it a bit.

    The discussion rolls on- and it is good!

  21. D. Meadows says:

    Ed’s comments that the Bible is NOT the truth make one think. I am a teacher. I experience that everday I go into the classroom. However, if I write on a piece of paper that I am a teacher, those words are true. The words are true and I prove their truth by my actions. The same analogy applies to scripture. The Word is the Truth and I prove the truth of it when I put His truths into action. Another analogy — I can carry out the actions of a doctor, for example. I can put on a lab coat, see a patient, write a prescription (or act like I am) and it would seem that I am a doctor. However those actions don’t make me a doctor. So that is not truth. Now if I have a medical degree ( a piece of paper from a reputable medical school saying I am a doctor ), then my actions would prove the truth. Maybe I am being too simplistic about this. But I think Ed has it backwards.

  22. D. Meadows says:

    It’s me again to clarify something I said in my last post. I should have said that although I go into a classroom and teach, the paper that says I am a teacher is my teaching cerfificate from the state of Mississippi. I kinda got the cart before the horse. This is what happens when you try to think when you’re not used to it. lol

  23. dannydodd says:

    well, when my sister decides to post- she does it right. Thanks for your engagement of Ed’s thoughts.

    I tend to agree with your line of thinking- that is- that we reflect the truth of scripture in our lives- and that this is actually one way God speaks- to us and through us.

  24. Edward Lee says:

    D. Meadows,

    Thanks for your response to my thoughts. I hope they bring joy and peace in your life, and I hope that your line of thinking works for you.

    -E

  25. Trey Morgan says:

    Danny,

    I’ve just been reading without feeling the need to comment. Not sure I have much to add other than thanks for sharing this. I know it wasn’t easy. I think if I had an experience like this I’d want to share it.

    The sad part is we fear what other think when we mention something like this. I do remember a silly dream once (and it was just a dream) that I was praying in the church office and then I just started floating around much like an astronaut you see in space. I still remember in the dream not being all that excited about the Holy Spirit doing these great things, but instead I was immediately worried about what I was going to tell my preacher friends. 🙂

  26. Neva says:

    After my first husband died, I had a very similar experience. I never knew whether God caused me to have a delusion, whether he sent me a ministering spirit or if it was real just as I saw it. I do know that I felt an overwhelming sense of comfort and peace. I don’t believe satan brings those things so I chose to give God the credit for whatever He did for me.

    Blessings
    Neva

  27. Jeff Frank says:

    Danny,
    Although I have never posted, I was intrigued by your experience. It got me to thinking about different times in my life when I desperately needed God, His guidance, love, peace, etc. It seems to me that these experiences normally happen when we are “down in the dumps,” “at the bottom of the barrel,” “at the end of our rope.” These low times in life seem to push me toward God more so than the high times. I can’t remember a time when I have had an experience like you and others have shared that did not occur during a trying time in my life. Is this because we are more bare or broken during those times, open to God’s touch and the high times we don’t feel the need for God’s touch because WE feel like WE can do it?

    Edward’s response reminds me of something from many years ago about a philosopher that suggested the real is only in your mind. What we see is only a representation of what is real.

    If faith is the unseen, isn’t our faith not based so much on the written Word as much as the lived Word of Jesus?

  28. Otis says:

    Just a thought. Isn’t this what we petition God for on the behalf of others when we request God bring comfort and console them through their time of need? I do not tell God how to do it, I just humbly ask that He does.

  29. James C. Guy says:

    It’s true, we don’t always know how the mind works. But, neither do we always know how God works. To claim we always do, is to essentially claim we are God (or as smart as Him).

    I don’t know that God speaks to EVERYONE, and I don’t think He does to everyone in the same way. But, I wonder if the only way we can see God is in our own understanding….maybe we aren’t listening.

    I don’t recall a specific dream, and I rarely remember a dream. But, a few times I have, I have seen what seemed to be a message on occassion (and wasn’t looking for one). On several other key occassions, I have seen (or heard or felt or whatever) God “pushing” me in a certain direction or decision. I also “hear” God’s Holy Spirit guiding me in many ways, but ONLY when I listen, and NOT in the way the “Whacko / Nut jobs” believe.

    So, God may or may not reveal Himself in the same way to everyone, but as Christians, we do have the promise of being led by His Spirit if we will listen. How He does that for each individual person???…I’ll let HIM decide!

  30. preacherman says:

    I believe we shouldn’t limit what God can do.
    I do believe that God communicates with us through the Bible, revelation, prophecy, dream.
    The Holy Spirit I believe is a helper to lead us into all knowledge and truth. I believe the Holy Spirit gives us verses, and pulls us into the direction of God’s perfect will. The Holy Spirt within us is a Spirit of power. It is my prayer that the Churches of Christ will allow the Holy Spirit to work in their ministers, ministries, and worship.

  31. Darin says:

    Great discussion.

    In my experience when someone brings something like this out a lot of people come out of the woodwork with a story. It seems to depend a lot on the group they belong to.

    On the flip side I have seen people who are a part of groups that expect this that manufacture the experience.

    I tend to appreciate these when they come from those who know this isn’t expected or appreciated in the group because they have nothing to gain and a lot to loose by admitting to them.

  32. Danny Holman says:

    I am enjoying this discussion and everyone relating their events, etc… Thanks Danny for opening this up. One of the ideas being brought up is the postmodern mantra that truth is validated by experience. Even though I agree with that, it all hinges on our ability to rightly discern those experiences… where they come from… and what they mean. Experience must also be validated by revelation. I am uncomfortable when someone starts pushing for experience to be the ultimate test of truth. Experience can be wrongly understood just like edicts can. Therefore we need both, and we should be leary of experiences that don’t match the edicts (text). I am not sure where the balance is between the modern and postmodern on this point, but , as several have said, we must be careful. We don’t want to lose our way looking inside ourselves for direction, and winding up creating our own way rather than than submitting. Both the push of the winds (existential experiences) and the course in the stars (objective revelation, ie. scripture) are necessary for sailing. And, should they disagree, change your sails and follow the stars.
    My only doubts about God communicating in the way we’re discussing are not scriptural/doctrinal… rather they are experiential. My experience in comment #3 was a difficult time, but I have endured much worse. Why did I receive the word then and not in those times when I felt the need much worse? Is my estimation wrong? Did I receive a sign and just missed it?
    In the end I have to accept the fact that reality is a lot more complex than my thinking.
    At least in this comment I was shorter than the original post.
    Thanks Danny

  33. dannydodd says:

    Hey I appreciate everyone’s comments on this topic. Great discussion coming from varying viewpoints. To me this is the strength of blogging- it is an open forum where dialog is welcome.

    Welcome to Neva, Jeff and James! Good input. Don’t be strangers.

    I think Danny in the last post summed up a little of the way I feel on this issue.

    Thanks again for everyone’s input!

  34. humble says:

    Hi I am driving home from walmart in a very bad storm in my van. The van is being blown so hard I was on two tires. I hear a voice say its time Joseph. I answer I am ready I also ask is my job done here. The voice says NO you must return to AA. I said OK. Funny thing is only one person knew I might stop going to AA. I had just made the choice not to go on the way to walmart sky were clear as day. The van stopped tipping and the wind died. I will know tell you I am not religious by any means I am spiritual. I have a very strong faith there is something out there. I sometimes thing its Christ But I do not have total faith. I do not believe in organized religion I believe the earth is the house of god. I ask myself am I nuts. You may say I am nuts but I don’t really care. I am here to do a job I will do it. I will not run through the streets saying i talked to god for fear of persecution. Besides if god wanted everyone one the earth to know he would have done this to me in public. I feel I was touched!! I do have a new faith in god one I did not have. I have a hope that i could not see or feel. I know that there is no doom in my future. I feel blessed and alive.

  35. Margie says:

    I know God exist I Pray to him every day every minute of my life. He has .a answered more prayers for me than you can imagen even when I was little he was there. Don’t tell me there’s no God. His word proves it we are living in the last days before the rapture and the Church will be taken home. I am in that lamps book of life and can’t wait till he calls me home to be with the Lord. Look at the weather you can’t winter from Fall or Spring from Summer. There is no snow anymore just a little cold and Spring is like summer and Winter is Fall . God is in control. It will soon be over. Thank GOD! Just look the only way you can tell the seasons is the leaves on the trees as saided in the Holy Bible of Jesus Christ.

  36. Melanie Stefine says:

    In the Spring of 2006 God sent a message. I received this message in a series of Dreams. The message is about the meaning of First is Last and Last is First. The message is this:
    In the morning I go to Heaven. In the afternoon I live my life. In the evening I die, death.
    What does this mean? It means that Birth is Last and Last is Birth. God also gives an example so that you can understand this better. Example: Mike Douglas died on his birthday. (Note: Mike Douglas and Michael Douglas are two different people.)

  37. Melanie Stefine says:

    In 2007 God had this to say,
    We each die in succession, then we are born on the same day.

  38. Melanie Stefine says:

    If you talk to God you’re religious. If God talks to you,
    you’re psychotic…

    I think most people would agree with this quote by Gregory House. Now I didn’t just have one happy dream from God. He came back after the dreams and had volumns to say. He also does not agree with a few verses in the Bible. Mostly he disagrees with the NT. He says that you don’t have to have Faith or believe in Jesus to go to Heaven. God said that Good Atheists go to Heaven and Bad Christians can go to Hell.

Leave a Reply

