How Would You Do Church?

The beach life was fleeting for me. I really only had one entire day to enjoy it with my family last week. On that day I swam with my girls, played with them on the beach, made snow cones for them, did some surf fishing and even managed to nap a little. Terri totally got outside of her box and went para-sailing. All-in-all it was a good week.

My time was cut short because my good friend David Pryor lost his sweet mom on Wednesday. It was expected. She had been suffering from Lou Gehrig’s disease. David asked me to officiate at her funeral so I flew to Memphis and from there went to Holly Springs, MS. I got back late Saturday night. Please keep in mind the Pryor family as your pray.

Father’s Day was awesome. My girls showered me with gifts- ties, shirts and a Garmin Nuvi GPS. Cool! We were all treated for lunch by a great couple from church at Zia’s which is a very neat resturaunt near Pensacola Bay.

Now to the question in the title. At Gateway we are considering a church plant in a nearby town. Discussion and plans are underway. If you were to be a part of a church plant how would you go about it? What would you do differently? Just how would you do church? 

13 Responses to How Would You Do Church?

  1. ben overby says:

    My first choice would be to pursue the growth of the kingdom as organically as possible. Prayer, sweat, love. Send a couple of families out on mission to get involved in the healing of other’s lives. Grow house churches by being for the city who Christ was for the world. If you buy property, don’t let it become an office complex and merely a place for the groups to get together and worship. Develop a real house of mercy that exists to shine the light of Jesus rather than simply singing about it.

  2. odgie says:

    Ben’s comments are certainly appropriate. I would also add doing some survey trips. Find out about the community you are considering for the plant: economic, racial, age groupings, and other demographics; where do people work?; what other churches are there and what are they doing?; what sort of problems is the community facing (schools, unemployment, crime, etc.)?

    Once you have this info, ask yourselves, “How can a new church serve this community best?”

  3. dannydodd says:

    Great thoughts Ben and Odgie.

    Ben’s ideas go right to some of the weaknesses of the traditional institutionalized church.

    Odgie is all about preparation and purpose.

    Good stuff. I hope others will follow you and share their ideas.

  4. Adam G. says:

    As one who helped in a church plant in Brazil and looks to doing the same there in the future, I can say I would do as much traditional evangelism, or more, than before. However, I would also engage in direct community activism. Organizing the community where the church is located to address local issues and concerns. Serve as an unofficial but invited mediator in disputes. I’d look into providing after-school homework assistance and activities, basic vocational training for youths and whatever else came up. My intent would be to proclaim the Good News, in all its fullness, that the crucified and resurrected Jesus is Lord the Nations and our lives. My goal would be to bring salvation in all its dimensions to human life. I would want people to know that the reign of God had arrived and is among us.

  5. Darin says:

    Why that town? What about it brings such a discussion? That would be my first question.

    Then you have some other really good ones already.

  6. God bless you, your family and your church. It is always so encouraging to see the Body of Christ alive and well. How sweet, how heavenly indeed.

    I don’t anything to add to what has already been suggested.

    Man guesses; God blesses. -Jason Goldtrap 🙂

  7. Jim says:

    I wouldn’t plant a new church of Christ in a town that already had several others. It causes division and animosity (and migration). Plant a new church in an area that is prone to radid growth and be the FIRST. Then you don’t have the conflict. If small churches already exist, rehabilitate the smallest one through church attendance and fellowship. We have plenty of church buildings. Not much outreach.

  8. […] Danny Dodd talked about how would we “do” church in a recent post.  I guess one thing I would do would be to be in touch with the financial needs and concerns of the members.  I would try to be relevant…all the time.  This life is a journey, one we make together as God’s children.  Why do we try to pretend that everything is good and wonderful for a couple of hours each week?  I would like to foster a community of sharing and celebrating of differences…not just similarities! […]

  9. Teresa says:

    Are you waiting for someone to suggest that they would do church with 3 songs/prayer/communion/sermon/closing prayer before you blog again?

    Just curious!

  10. dannydodd says:

    ROFL- Teresa nailed it. Now that “real church” has been validated- we can move on! lol

  11. Trey Morgan says:

    I got a garmin nuvi 350 about 6 months ago and have loved it. It has it’s own name and we have made it part of the family. 🙂

    Wouldn’t take a trip without it.

  12. I was a church planter in Boston for the past four years. Now I’m finishing up my MDiv at GCTS. When I finish seminary I hope to start another seminary. Meanwhile, I’m doing exactly what I think someone should do to start a church: Meet your neighbors, build friendships, show the love of Christ to them on a daily and weekly basis. Don’t preach at them, but at some point early on in the relationship let them know what you are about and what Jesus is all about. Start inviting people for dinner. Talk about Jesus. If possible, start an intentional Bible study in your own living room. Disciple people one on one and in groups. Share, love, get involved in the community, volunteer, let people be a part of your life and offer them your perspective. Don’t back down from a tough question. Answer with conviction. I could go on, but in short, I would call this “following Jesus”. Starting a church is nothing more than being sensitive to the Holy Spirit and not filling your life with agendas, meetings, to do lists, and stuff. Pray!

  13. Teresa Jurczak says:

    I have to say I agree with Jim on this matter

Leave a Reply

