The Blessings of the Big 5-0

“Just make it clear God!” I don’t know how many times I have either heard or said this. You know how it goes- you are at a crossroads of some kind and a decision is needed- and you are unsure of which way to go. If only God would just speak up, show me the exact way and give me some specific clues as to my future! Hmmm, I wonder if Abraham ever thought this?

Faith is the key. Life is a faith journey. All we can do is keep going in God’s direction and make our choices based on what we can see- and then trust him to handle what we cannot see.

For instance it was just a few short years ago that I could not see my way out of the aftermath of divorce and loneliness, but as I fretted God was already working it all out. Now, as I turn the big 5-0 this week (on Wednesday) I do so with a wonderful wife who married way below herself and two incredible, smart and beautiful little girls.

Who-woulda-thunk-it ten years ago? Well- besides God?

So, like Churchill famously said- never, never, never give up!

Here is a pic of the blessings of my big half century birthday:

And oh by-the-way- How bout them Ole Miss Rebels! Hotty Toddy baby!

21 Responses to The Blessings of the Big 5-0

  1. That Girl says:

    Congratulations on all the blessings of 50!

    If I had gotten what I asked for 10 years ago, I wouldn’t be very happy and I certainly wouldn’t have moved to another state and married a wonderful man… I can’t even believe I can say that!

    Thanks for your example!

  2. wjcsydney says:

    Beautiful! But that’s a LOT of pink!
    I’m infinitely more blessed at 50 despite some real challenges in the last year or so. Or maybe because of the challenges I am able to appreciate my blessings

  3. Donna says:

    Happy Birthday…in case I forget tomorrow.

    It is wonderful to watch how God’s ways are so much better and higher than ours! You have indeed been blessed!

  4. Jim Sexton says:

    5-0… I thought you were talking about Penn States record!

    Been there, done that, got the t-shirt (and the coffee cup, balloons, and a variety of helpful things like Geritol…) so no sympathy from me, you’re on your own!

    Keep up the good work, look around, and count your blessings… because the truth is you are closer to the end than the beginning. I completed my first year of full time ministry around my 50th birthday and it was the best decision I have ever made. Now in my 4th year I can’t imagine another life… may God continue to bless you.

    Jimbo

  5. Trey Morgan says:

    You look great for a guy who’s 50. Congrats on the special birthday!

  6. SteveLavin says:

    Happy Birthday Danny! Right behind ya!

  7. Teresa says:

    Happy 50th! Russel says it’s not so bad.

  8. Bill C. says:

    Congrats on hitting the big one! You don’t look a day over 62.

    Love you my friend.

  9. Bobby Ross says:

    Happy 5-0! What an awesome family picture.

  10. Karol Lee says:

    Happy Birthday Danny! We hope you have a great day. Eat an extra slice of cake for us.

  11. Happy birthday! being 50 isn’t all that old…you’re only as old as you feel!

  12. dannydodd says:

    Thanks for the b’day wishes everyone!

    50 is the new 30 I am told!

  13. And it is a most beautiful family Danny. I praise God.

  14. Eddie Lewis says:

    Danny, happy 50 birthday! I didn’t realize that you are that old. Man!

    You have a beautiful family! Tell them hello from Judy and me.

    I thought 60 was the new 40?
    blessing, Eddie

  15. Steve says:

    Blessings to you and your beautiful family. I have benefitted many times from God’s Genesis 50:20 principle and see that you have as well.

    Happy birthday. I’m also an October birthday, but a few years ahead of you.

    Peace.

  16. J D says:

    Happy Birthday friend. I enjoyed so much our visit yesterday. 50 years is awesome and your family is so precious. I appreciate the way you often express your gratitude of your wife and children … they should know that when you are away from their hearing you are often expressing your love for your wife and children and how blessed you feel. I was 17 when I first met you … glad we both grew up a little bit. I grew out a lot … but that’s another story. Hope your visit to your moms is a great one. Be safe on your way home to those loved ones. I’m glad we are such good friends.

  17. […] morning I drove over to Mobile and met Danny Dodd for breakfast at Cracker Barrel. The food was good but the company much better. We enjoyed a few […]

  18. Tim McCarter says:

    Happy Birthday “old” friend! I really didn’t know you were that much older than I. Just kidding! My next one will be the big 5-0 as well. And I don’t mean 5-0 as in “Hawaii 5-0”. Debbie says “Hello” as well. Come visit some time. God bless.

  19. Tawana says:

    Danny,

    I pray God has as many blessings for me at 50 as he has for you! Miss your beautiful family a lot. Kaylee reminds me of how Taylor was sometimes. (to smart for their on good?) Hotty Toddy back at ya! Maybe we are going to slip into to Golden “Nut” years.

  20. lesjr says:

    Dagnabit, my friends are getting so old!

  21. preacherman says:

    Happy birthday Danny.
    You don’t look 50.
    I am so glad that you were born and have made the decission to blog.
    Your blog has been such a source of blessing in my life.
    I read it everyday.
    Keep up the great work.
    I am always prayiing for you, your family and most importantly your ministry.
    Again happy birthday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

