Seems Like Old Times

November 9, 2008

I started an old-fashioned gospel meeting today at the Brookway Church of Christ in Brookhaven, MS. I have had a wonderful relationship with this church since my college years. Way back then they helped encourage and nuture my feldging preaching efforts. It was here that I even killed an elder’s TV.

So it seems like old times- a wonderful reunion. As an extra treat some old friends from our Skyway Hills days visited this morning. It was a blessing to see Danny and Linda Magee (her parents live here and worship at Brookway) along with their youngest son, Cameron. Danny, a gifted song leader, even led worship. Another reason why it seemed like old times.

I look forward to the next few days here (meeting ends on Wednesday night). Other old friends have promised to try to visit and I get a return trip to the Byrnes home- but I have promised not to touch their TV!

Changing directions here. Just a thought- I have been hearing all kinds of fear and concern about the election results, about the economy, about the war, about the direction of the USA, etc. But should we as Christians be among the fear-mongering? After all, our primary citizenship is in God’s kingdom. No matter what may or may not happen in our country- we should remain confident in the fact that God is in control and has promised to provide for us as seekers of his kingdom. Certainly we should be praying for our President-elect, as well as other leaders, for economical difficulties and for peace, but we should not be among those worrying about it. Instead, we can witness to faith in the midst of the fear. We can practice the peace that passes understanding. We can demonstrate God’s calm alternative reaction to all the challenges and perhaps direct a few others to the place where worry is overcome by prayer.

I will report from Brookhaven later in the week. Thanks for stopping by!