Is It Just Me…

Is it just me or is the news media demonstrating some hypocritical tendencies recently? Just consider how they are treating Caroline Kennedy compared to the number they did on Sarah Palin. Guys and gals in the “fourth estate”- your biases are showing.

Is it just me or does the unlikely pairing of the Arizona Cardinals and the Pittsburgh Steelers seem kind of intriguing? Could be an entertaining Super Bowl to watch.

As long as I am on the subject- Is it just me or is college football just more fun than the NFL. The tradition! The rivalries! The pageantry! Whoa Nellie!

And while I am here- Is it just me or is anyone else nervous about the jacked-up level of expectations now placed upon the Ole Miss football team? I mean, one writer on SI.com has them already ranked sixth for the 09 season. Not only is it way too early to be ranking- the Rebs do not need this kind of hype to jazz up expectations to an unreal level. Hey, we had an unexpectedly good year in 08, but do not make us the Georgia of 09!

Is it just me or does anyone else miss the time when Churches of Christ used to actually cooperate with each other? Once upon a time area churches supported each others ministry efforts and even combined resources for community events- not so much anymore. Now attitudes toward other congregations seem to run from suspicion to outright contempt. Recently I asked a guy from one congregation in a town if he knew some folks in another congregation in the same town. He replied, “We don’t run in the same circles.” What? Will we run in different circles in heaven? Sad- for a movement born of unity.

Is it just me or does anyone else think Facebook is taking over the world?

Is it just me or is there someone else out there who wishes he/she had not waited so long to complete their Master’s degree?

Is it just me or has anybody else tried to figure out why there seems to be a growing gap between folks who attend worship and Bible class on Sunday mornings?

Is it just me or does the product Hollywood puts out really stink? There are a few competent programs on TV, but most of it- to me- is junk. What ever happened to the good ole days of The Andy Griffith Show or even Everybody Loves Raymond?

Is it just me or can anyone else not wait until Fantasy Baseball season!!

Is it just me or would anyone else rather be fishing?

14 Responses to Is It Just Me…

  1. c3andp says:

    Regarding Caroline Kennedy, it is just you. I have seen some pretty harsh reports in news media about her, especially considering that she is JFK’s daughter.
    Regarding the state of TV, it is just you. It has been a “vast wasteland” even going back to the TAGS days, but there is always something worth watching. like the brand new show The Mentalist.
    I am sure it is not just you about fishing, but it is not really me.
    The rest of them are pretty much all of us.
    C3

  2. I’d rather be traveling the world than fishing anyday. I’ve been trying to get Dr. Huffard to start a graduate class called Encouraging Missionaries. Part of the requirement would be to visit missionaries in several different countries to encourage and help them – Greece, Spain, Togo, Ghana, Scotland, Luthiana, Ukraine, Zambia, to name a few….but I haven’t talked him into it yet….

  3. Davis says:

    Please — no more Sarah Palin! My stomach rolls over every time I see her mentioned.

  4. dannydodd says:

    Well C3, you are right that there has been some criticism of Kennedy, but in no way does it compare to the all-out media war staged against Palin (sorry Davis- but thanks for posting). I have never seen anyone get blasted like her- and for what- just being herself? I am no Palin apologist but I think she got unfairly treated in a major way by the media.

    Tammie, how about traveling somewhere to fish? lol Your idea sounds like a great one. Keep pressing with it. Who knows what God might do!

  5. Jim Sexton says:

    Let me know if you are in a fantasy baseball league that needs an attentive manager… it is one of my diversions that I allow myself and would love to be a league with you.

    Is it just me or have you turned into Andy Rooney? “D’ja ever wonder why…”

    If McCain’s background had seen the light of day that Palin’s did…

    Repaid his first wife’s devotion to him as a POW by returning to have an affair with his now second wife for nearly 2 years. Lives and pays his bills with money earned by having the largest alcohol distributorship in the southwest. Just to name a few… of course those things must have been examined and found to be tolerable to the ultra-right wing Christian movement that hounded me with daily emails to vote for the only Christian choice… that made MY stomach turn.

    Ugh… politics in general give me indigestion. Let’s pray that the new group will do a better job than what we have had recently. I am in a wait and see mode… more walk and less talk.

    Jimbo

  6. dannydodd says:

    I will keep you in mind Jimbo. It seems my league always is in need of one or two good managers every year.

  7. Jim Sexton says:

    I have no qualms with taking a bottom feeder and spending some time rebuilding it. I like keeper leagues, but have played in many formats… head to head, points and roto…

    Sorry to say so much about the political arena, it just hit a nerve today.

    Jimbo

  8. dannydodd says:

    Ours is not a keeper league. Never played in one, but it sounds fun. We just do the Yahoo free deal with a live draft. I will need your email addy.

    Hey no need to apologize- that is what blogs are all about.

  9. Jim Sexton says:

    cherokeechurch@hotmail.com for first contact… I can give you a personal one after that for the league use.

    Our keeper league is also on yahoo free… you just have to declare 6 players from your previous year’s roster and everyone doing the draft knows that they are not available. When you do the live draft, each owner uses the first 6 rounds to state what everyone already knows pre draft… they choose the keepers that they declared ahead of time.

    After that, you do your draft as usual, nothing fancy to the keeper set-up, it just allows you to build from year to year and not be stuck with the luck of the draft. We also would take last year’s final standings to determine draft order. Last place chose first and so on in the first round, then the second round it reverses so in a 10 team league (for example) the 2008 champion would select 10th and then 11th, while the last place 2008 team went 1st, 20th, and 21st… so on and so forth.

    You guys may still decide to go to a keeper format if it interests the rest of the owners for this coming year. It also makes for some fun pick-ups in the final quarter of the year as you look to get next season’s Evan Longoria a the end of this year if he is called up to the big club.

    Jimbo

  10. Darren says:

    Is it just me or does it seem like College Football has a million useless bowls?

    The CoC is notorius for infighting and casting stones at others. I got so tired of all this I jumped ship and am preaching on the other side of the keyboard. It is a little better on this side but one can tell we are related.

    As for Palin: UGH! She needed to do her homework better. There was a reason the McCain camp kept her hidden from the media.

  11. Trey Morgan says:

    I can’t wait until baseball and fantasy baseball begins. 🙂

  12. xybatt says:

    Football: Go Cards!!! Love Curt Warner! Just think, after Tebow praised GOD and Warner proclaims Jesus is Lord for the next two weeks, maybe some of our folks will speak up for a change!

    I did a lesson at Miss. Bible Camp Single’s retreat about how the church is like an egg. It needs to be treated gently and with respect to stay together. Unfortunately, alot are willing to break that egg!!! Wonder if the parable of the lost sheep (leave the 99 and find the one) is too difficult. Many would say “oh, well. Let him go” instead of going to find him. Or they would find the sheep, then tell him what’s wrong with him. “Sheep, you are lost”. Bet the sheep already knows! Pick him up and carry him home, shepard!

  13. Donna says:

    I am having college football withdrawals….Pro is a poor substitute, but I will be watching the Super Bowl and I will NOT tell you who I am for…..it is the kiss of death.
    On a positive note the Austaralian Open started this week…..love me some tennis. and I joined my fantasy racing team….wanna play?

    Ole Miss scares me this year. I hate all the preseason hype, but they should be strong.

    I agree with you on Kennedy vs Palin….the bias bleeds over to your blog…

    And is it just me or is the CofC on a real decline and the reaction seems to be more and more inclusiveness and lack of cooperation…which will only hasten the demise…??

  14. dannydodd says:

    Darren, college football does have too many bowl games. As much as I love watching CF even I cannot get into some of the buddy bowl match-ups. But I do agree with Donna- the pro game is but a substitute- sometimes a really great one, but often not.

    Donna, I have never really gotten into Nascar, but my wife really, really likes to watch the tennis events on TV.

    The CoC is in decline. Bobby Ross of the Christian Chronicle reports that our numbers are the lowest since 1980. Yet- in my opinion anyway- we keep repeating all of the same mistakes that have gotten us here including continual fracturing- like Jim’s egg.

    And oh yea, I am thinking of a future post about Palin- asking why she received (and even continues to recieve) such negative reactions.

Leave a Reply

