Seasons

God gives us all seasons of life and usually it is fairly clear the season in which we belong. Me- I am kind of confused. Being fifty with two kids under eight may be part of the reason. But to borrow from that great country philosopher- Toby Keith- I must admit that I am not as good as I once was in many things.

Lately, I have not been very good at maintaining this blog. Thanks to those who have prodded me recently.

I could blame the yard-work season or the fantasy baseball season or the fishing season or the soccer season or the spring semester season or the mid-life crisis season 🙂 or any number of seasons, but really I am without excuse.

Since my last post:

  • I finished my latest class in the M. Min. program at Harding- Research and Resources. Included was a term research paper. Just got my  final grade- 95. Yay!
  • I have been preaching a sermon series on the seven churches of Asia from Revelation 2-3 and have greatly enjoyed it. Fantastic feedback from the church too!
  • I (along with some of our other ministers) planned our Summer Sunday Night Live at Gateway.  We take a recess from small groups in the summer and do the traditional Sunday night thing. Our “SNL” will be a more interactive and intimate worship and learning experience.
  • I have also planned my summer Sunday morning sermon series entitled “Go and Tell What the Lord has Done for You.” Included will be vid clips of Gateway members telling their God stories.
  • I finalized my trip to Lithuania for the summer camp. God willing, I head out on July 2nd.
  • I finalized (thanks to a friend and brother) my “bucket list” dream trip to Fenway Park in Boston in June. Cannot wait! Sox vs Braves! (Also have another “bucket list” trip planned for June- to Nashville to a George Jones concert. That’s right- you heard me! The possum rocks!)
  • I have enjoyed a vairety of fishing trips- both salt and fresh water. Sometimes I caught ’em- sometimes I didn’t.
  • I have enjoyed seeing my seven-year-old, Taylor, play soccer. She has scored a few goals. Both Taylor and my three-year-old, Jordan, are in ballet and will have their recital soon. They already had the dress rehearsal- they looked liked princesses!
  • I have been working to reclaim my yard from the weeds. We recently planted a lemon and lime tree. We shall see how this goes.
  • I started fantasy baseball season- so far, not so good. Pitching is killing me.
  • I (along with the kids) served my wife breakfast in bed, got her some roses and a ring for Mother’s Day. She deserves more.

Now, I am getting ready for the next seasons- summer semester and hurricane! Let’s hope the latter is no mean one.

And two more things- John Eldredge’s Waking the Dead is a fantastic book. Ditto for Third Day’s song, Revelation.

10 Responses to Seasons

  1. Donna says:

    Okay…I like Waking the Dead and Third Day- Revelation…Love the Braves, would love to go to Finway….

    But George Jones????really????

  2. SteveLavin says:

    “but really I am without excuse” lol This blog is a list of nothing but!

    Seriously, glad you found the time. Your absence has been too long.

  3. lesjr says:

    Third Day and George Jones in the same post? That’s just wrong! 🙂

  4. dannydodd says:

    What? No love for “No Show”? I can’t hardly listen to “He Stopped Loving Her Today” without a tear flowing down my cheek. 🙂

    And Steve- lol- you noticed, huh?

  5. jim miller says:

    welcome back

  6. teresa says:

    Can you hear me humming the Welcome Back Kotter theme song, “Welcome Back?”

  7. rossblog says:

    Thanks for the update! Great to catch up with you. Fenway and George Jones both sound like fun!

  8. SteveLavin says:

    Third Day, baseball, fishing … they all sound nice but what I am really jealous of is the soccer games and recitals! Man! they grow up too fast. You are quite the fortunate man.

  9. Darin says:

    Sounds like you will be able to make Sprite. Congrats on that.

    An interesting mix. Our summer is much more subdued.

  10. Eddie Lewis says:

    I agree with Steve, all these things are great excuses.
    My spring and summer will be spent watching basketball and baseball as the grandboys play. I love it!
    Also I am planning and recruiting for VBS. We have about 300 kids that come and 170 of those are visitors from the community. Lots of followup.
    I am glad you made a 95 on your research paper.

Leave a Reply

