Ronney Wheeler

A cherished friend, brother, mentor and model for my ministry and family was called home to be with God over the weekend. Ronney Wheeler was truly an inspiration to me and I will greatly miss the opportunity to talk and visit with him.

I first met Ronney, Sylvia and their family in Kosciusko, MS while in college in the early 80s at Magnolia Bible College. This fireball of  man uprooted his crew of five kids from Phoenix, AZ and landed in small-town Mississippi to better prepare himself for full-time ministry in God’s kingdom. He and Sylvia quickly began blessing everyone around them. In Ronney I saw a tremendous example of a man of faith who took seriously God’s call to share Christ.

Since those days Ronney and Sylvia have remained a blessing to me and many others. Ronney’s passion for Christ was always his driving force and everywhere he ministered- the church grew. I always made it a point to have Ronney and Sylvia come to my congregation in hopes that their enthusiasm would rub off.

I will greatly miss interaction with this incredible soldier of the cross, but I know heaven is even sweeter because he is there.

For anyone who knew Ronney you can leave a message on the guestbook of the Gold Canyon Church of Christ in Phoenix where Ronney was ministering. The link is http://www.gccofc.org/index.htm

P.S Just got this word from the family: “In lieu of flowers we are setting up a memorial fund, Gold Canyon Church of Christ, Ronney Samuel Wheeler Memorial Fund, POB 5248, Apache Junction, AZ 85178 or POB 4815, Apache Junction, AZ 851784 “

9 Responses to Ronney Wheeler

  1. marksmessages says:

    Danny,
    I agree wholeheartedly with you. Ronney was a great inspiration. It’s always mixed feelings at a time like this— sad that he is gone, but rejoice in the fact that he went on to his reward.

    It had a number of years since I had seen Ronney, but I always the time that I spent with him.

    The world is a little worse off today.

  2. john dobbs says:

    I agree with your tribute Danny. The last time I saw Ronney was when he and Sylvia were in Pascagoula following Katrina’s devastation. We went to a local eatery and I think he ate a bucket full of fried green tomatoes and then talked endlessly about them. lol He was passionate about life and everything that was good. Especially teaching people about Jesus. More especially, Jesus himself. Sylvia is a strong, beautiful, courageous woman … though I’m sure she’s not feeling that way right now. My heart goes out to them. Ronney impacted many lives.

  3. Jarrod Dresbach says:

    Yes,I agree and Amen. God has used Ronney and his Family to help move the KINGDOM in the right way. He has been in my life for almost 30 years. He will be missed.

  4. Ronnie was indeed a great man of God. I’m privileged to have known him, worked with him on many occasions in the Kingdom. Our thoughts, love and prayers to Sylvia and family. Rs.116:15
    Marvin & Dot Phillips
    Phi.1:3

  5. Jimmy Helm says:

    Ronney was a good man and friend. His energy, enthusiasm, and spirituality always inspired me. Our family think much of him and his family. He will be missed.
    Jimmy Helm

  6. lesjr says:

    Ronney was a warrior. He will be missed!

  7. angie sheaffer says:

    Ronney will be greatly missed. He as my second cousin but always refered to him as my Uncle Ronney and Aunt Sylvia. I will so miss the big smile and wonderous laugh. He could light up a room. His love and passion for Christ always shined. Uncle Ronney i cant wait to see you again.

  8. scottie says:

    hey buddy,

    i did not know Ronney, but i will think of you, those that did and his family during this difficult time….be good my friend and know that you do not mourn alone…

  9. Great goods from you, man. I’ve remember your stuff previous to and you’re simply too great. I really like what you have received right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which in which you are saying it. You’re making it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to learn far more from you. That is actually a great website.

Leave a Reply

