Bringing Up Girls

 

I am currently reading James Dobson’s book, Bringing Up Girls. The book was a gift (and a hint) from my wife, Terri.

I come from a family of girls- three sisters and no brothers. All my children are girls. Even my sister’s children are all girls.  “Girls, Girls, Girls” could be my life-story and not just an old Elvis movie! 🙂

But the challenge of rearing my two youngest girls in today’s fluid culture is daunting- a mixture of blessings and challenges.

Taylor is my eight year old. She is such a smart kid- bright and beautiful and somewhat of a nerd. She probably knows more about Andy Griffith and Barney Fife than any other eight year old girl! She is growing up so fast it is scary.

Jordan is four. She is sneaky smart and quite mischievous. When she chooses, she can charm anyone with her beautiful smile which lights up her face. Other times- well she will let you know how she is feeling. She stays busy always trying to catch up with big sis.

I think about these two amazing gifts from God and I pray that God will give me the insight, strength, patience and love to be the kind of dad they need.  I want to bring up these girls to know and love God.

I am asking for your prayers too- and not just for me, but for all dads and moms working diligently to bring up girls and boys in the Lord.

Somewhow I don’t think it is as easy as it used to be.

5 Responses to Bringing Up Girls

  1. Dottie Graves says:

    Danny, You do have a challenge ahead. I spent many nights in constant communication with God when my girls were teenagers. I always told them that my job was to get them to heaven. But, God gave us free will. It was always a battle of wills at my house. (I think Terri will identify with this statement more that you.) I had to learn not to break their wills. Sometimes I would just cry and pray. But, in the long run, I think my children have become good Christian women. You can hold their hands for a little while and then you have to let go. I think you and Terri are amazing parents and this journey will be filled with so many experiences and memories that you will cherish.

  2. Eddie Lewis says:

    Great stuff Danny! I know your concern and joy. It is a grand thing to see your girls growup into beautiful young women that love God and are great moms themselves.

  3. J D says:

    You are blessed with a beautiful family Danny, including the girl that’s already grown! I have full confidence that you and Terri are stellar parents!

  4. dannydodd says:

    Thanks for the encouragement everyone!

    Dottie, nice to see you (my sis) comment. 🙂

  5. Scottie says:

    hey bud,

    You and I have shared this discussion, and I know that your gift of wisdom will allow you to find your way through. I think I have found in my own chalenge with my sons that “finding the way through the maze” doesn’t mean that there is a “clean way through” in fact, I think that raising the kiddos is meant to have some pain and uncertainty—that’s what life is about. I think the thing is to embrace the challenge which is the hard part for me. We love your girls and the evidence of you and Terri’s care in raising them is simply evident in who they are.

    Take care man…

Leave a Reply

