Wings by Taylor Danielle Dodd

The following is a story my nine-year old daughter- Taylor- wrote as an assignment in her third grade class. She has quite the imagination. Just thought I would share. 🙂

One afternoon I was eating hot “wings” and watching a show about how to use fairy “wings.” My mom walked in the room yelling, “Honey, are you going to write your speech or “wing” it?”

All of a sudden I felt a strange tickle on my back. It felt like my back was being ripped open! I looked at my mom, she was staring at me in terror and then to my surprise she let out an earsplitting scream! She took me to my room, put me in front of the mirror and I saw what had happened. I had sprouted silvery, white fairy wings!

“Do you need to go to the doctor?” said mom. “I’ll take myself,” I said. But I didn’t go to the doctor. I went to the park. I was going to have so much fun! I flew in front of children and scared them to death. One of them started crying. I flew up into the clouds and made voices that told people’s future. I made one man look as mad as a wet cat! As I was laughing, I forgot to flap my wings so I started falling. I fell into a pond.

When I got out I tried to fly, but my wings were too wet and I never left the ground. I didn’t want to go home and get into trouble, so I rested by a tree. A few minutes later my wings dried. I flew around tall buildings and hills. But soon I got out of control, I started going really high and then diving lower and lower. I bumped into buildings, got bumps, bruises and many scratches.

I wanted it all to stop, so I tried as hard as I could to go toward the pond. It worked and when I was hovering over it my wings stopped flapping. I fell into the pond and when I got out my wings were gone! I went home and got grounded for lying to my mom. But at least I know, I never want to grow wings again!

5 Responses to Wings by Taylor Danielle Dodd

  1. Karen Akers says:

    Taylor is a very good little writer!

  2. darcy white says:

    Very good story. Keep up with your writing. Hope to see you one of these day.

  3. E. Walker Myer says:

    Wow! Excellent for a third grader. Start a notebook now and keep all of her creative works. Be sure to date them!!! I think we will see amazing things from this young one. I believe she inherited the talent. Good for her! EWM

  4. Stephanie Keeton says:

    I love Taylor’s story; she is a wonderful writer.

  5. tank car components…

    […]Wings by Taylor Danielle Dodd « Adventures in Preaching[…]…

Leave a Reply

