Put Some Clothes on Already!

Yesterday I checked out one of my favorite news websites. I go there regularly to be informed about world events–unfortunately it is usually not very good news. Yesterday the bad news was accompanied by something even worse–a picture of the revealed backside of an aging pop star!  Her Grammy “outfit” (meant to shock, no doubt) was all about exposure. I don’t know if I was more aggravated by the picture or that the news site posted it.

News? Really?

Of course it is all about eyeballs on their site and clicks on their ads. Both the site and the pop star mutually benefitting from all of the “exposure.”

But when are we going to get enough of this? Celebrities spilling out of their scant clothing; publically exposing private parts; “leaking” sex tapes; etc.–all to generate a little buzz and keep themselves somehow relevant? That is all sad enough, but when it starts headlining news sites next to the latest bulletin about terror threats?

Enough. Put some clothes on already!

I have two young daughters. I really do not want them influenced by this kind of behavior. It is not to be celebrated. It is not cool. It is vulgar. It objectifies women. It is not freedom. Rather it is a symptom of slavery to sin.

I said it. It is sinful.

It is misguided. It takes the beauty of God’s creation and corrupts it.

It damages girls because they can grow up thinking this is acceptable and how they should dress if they want to be attractive. It damages boys because it trains them to view girls as little more than objects on display.

Is there a chance we can rediscover modesty?

Modesty by definition is about drawing undue attention to yourself. Certainly exposing flesh qualifies. In New Testament times it was more about extravagant dress–elaborate hairstyles and way too much bling. In that context we find this teaching:

What matters is not your outer appearance–the styling of your hair, the jewelry your wear, the cut of your clothes–but the inner disposition. Cultivate inner beauty, the gentle, gracious kind that God delights in. (1 Peter 3:3-4 MSG)

Maybe we will reach some kind of tipping point as a culture–where exposure becomes overexposure and enough will be enough. I don’t know.

In the meantime, let’s work to emphasize the value of what God delights in by demonstrating and teaching that gracious, gentle inner beauty to our young people.

Yep, I am getting older and this bothers me.

What is ironic is that the pop star with the missing material in her costume is exactly my age. She should know better.

Put some clothes on already!

 

 

7 Responses to Put Some Clothes on Already!

  1. RBurdge says:

    SO RIGHT-SO YO!

    rb

  2. That Girl says:

    I always felt like I dressed pretty modestly but I didn’t like it that I was made to feel responsible for a man’s thoughts.

    Somewhere around age 45, I heard a lesson at church about how it was a husband/father’s responsibility to teach his wife and daughters (age appropriate) what exactly goes through a man’s mind regarding a woman’s clothing. The preacher said that even though he hated shopping, he felt it was his job to shop with his wife and daughters, on occasion, to let them know his opinion about their desired purchases. He suggested that women asked a man in their life if they owned any immodest clothing. I asked the gentleman who is now my husband about my clothing. He mentioned a blouse that he felt was a little too revealing. It was a blouse that I was already uncomfortable in so I donated it right away (now somebody else is dressed poorly, uh oh!)

    I was also in a gathering when a man said that regardless of what a woman has on, a business suit or bikini, he is going to be tempted. I know that I can’t help that kind of thinking.

    I am very conscious of the clothing I wear. I never go out without asking, “Is this too short, too tight, too low…etc.”

    With all that being said, I still don’t want our girls to feel that they are bad or that they are the ones causing a gentleman to have sexual thoughts.

  3. shannon says:

    Reblogged this on Lookin' Fer Learnin' and commented:
    Enough. Put some clothes on already!

  4. ddmeadows says:

    I just saw an ad today for clothing for “older” women. It claimed that the clothing is suited for women who don’t want to look like they’re trying to recapture their youth (my words; I’m paraphrasing). When I looked at the items in the ad, what I saw were tops cut low and drooping off a shoulder. Really? I would not have worn those tops when I was young, let alone now! Not only do we need to teach our children about modesty and giving glory to God in our appearances; maybe we need to be more vocal to the merchandising industry about what we find acceptable and what is just totally unfit!

  5. Carlene says:

    Amen! Well said….

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Jim Miller says:

    clothes are my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

